× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Kibaki Cabinets Arts & Culture Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

What you need to know about the Juja by-election

By Sara Okuoro and Ronald Bett | May 18th 2021
The late Juja MP Francis Waititu aka Wakapee.

The Juja parliamentary seat became vacant after MP Francis Waititu succumbed to brain cancer on February 22, 2021 at MP Shah Hospital.

Waititu was elected on a Jubilee ticket during the 2017 General Election. He garnered 66,190 votes.

According to IEBC, Juja constituency has 114,761 registered voters.

The 2017 General Election had an 80 per cent voter turn-out which saw 91,801 Kenyans casting their votes in the region.  

Quick facts. [Graphics, The Standard]

The by-election

On Tuesday, May 18, 2021, voters in the Juja constituency will head to the polls to elect their next member of parliament.

A total of eleven candidates will square it out in the mini poll.

Jubilee Party By-election Juja MP Nominee Susan Njeri Waititu during certificate issuance at the Party's Headquarters in Nairobi on Wednesday, March 24, 2021. [Boniface Okendo, Standard]

Main contenders

1. Waititu Susan Njeri - Jubilee Party

2. Ndung'u George Koimburi – Progressive Empowerment Party (PEP)


3. Mwangi Kariuki Chege – Independent

4. Kagera Eunice Wanjiru – The New Democrats (TND)

5. Kariuki Joseph Gichui –  Independent

6. Kariuki Rashid Iregi –  Independent

7. Marungo James Kariuki - Independent

8. Mburu John Njoroge – People’s Party of Kenya (PPK)

9. Ndung'u Antony Kirori – Maendeleo Chap Chap Party (MCCP)

10. Ndung’u Kennedy Gachuma – National Liberal Party (NLP)

11. Zulu Julius Thiong'o - Independent


Share this story
Daddy's Girl: Journey on being raised by single father
He says she will tell her own story. He wants to tell his, and that of his daughter.
Why Kenyan boxers are winning medals once again
The BFK led by President Anthony ‘Jamal’ Ombok was elected into the office in 2019 and has since...