× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Cartoons Lifestyle Moi Cabinets Arts & Culture Ramadhan Special Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

President Uhuru appoints new TSC chair, member

By Mireri Junior | April 30th 2021

President Uhuru Kenyatta has appointed Dr Jamleck Muturi (pictured) as the new Teachers Service Commission Chairman.

He will serve for a period of six years.

In a Gazette Notice No. 4012 dated April 30, President Kenyatta also appointed Alfred Oyucho as a member of the commission.

Kenyatta in the gazette notice said he was exercising powers conferred on him by Article 250 (2) of the Constitution and Section 8 (10) of Teachers Service Commission Act, 2012 to make the appointments.

Muturi will replace Lydia Nzomo whose six-year term as TSC chairperson ended on November 18 last year.

Oyucho served as the commission’s lawyer until his appointment.

A selection panel appointed by President Kenyatta submitted the two names to the president.

Take a quick survey and help us improve our website!

Take a survey

In a Gazette notice dated February 22, President Kenyatta tasked the panel to select nominees for appointment as the chairperson and one member of the commission.

Share this story
Youth must embrace unions – Atwoli
The COTU boss says the youth should take advantage of the limited employment growth to advocate for a partnership approach to employment relations.
Increased allocation for debt payment pushes Kenya's budget to Sh3.62 trillion
Debt and pensions double Treasury’s budget estimates as the government struggle to meet its obligations amid falling revenues.