× Digital News Videos Africa Health & Science Opinion Columnists Education Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Arts & Culture Gender Planet Action Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS


Magoha plans meetings over new curriculum

By Augustine Oduor | Jun 19th 2019 | 2 min read

Education CS George Magoha in Kisumu on April 26, 2019. [Collins Oduor, Standard]

The Ministry of Education has lined up a series of engagements with stakeholders ahead of a national conference slated for August 13.

It emerged that Education Cabinet Secretary George Magoha has planned the meetings to discuss the competency-based curriculum after galvanising more support for its implementation during last week's secondary school heads meeting.

Kenya Secondary School Heads Association (Kessha) last week endorsed the full implementation of the new curriculum.

A well-coordinated plan saw primary school heads, parents and the Kenya Union of Post-Primary Education Teachers announce their support for the CBC during the one-week conference in Mombasa.

Buoyed by last week’s endorsement by 9,000 principals in Mombasa and 23,000 primary school heads, The Standard has learnt that the ministry has now prepared a new plan for public mobilisation to reach all key players in the sector.

A nine-member committee formed by Prof Magoha has scheduled county meetings from July 1.

The committee has also planned pre-conference engagements with various education stakeholders, which will also include proper messaging targeting various sector players.

More clergy, MPs, senators and policy makers are now targeted in the next phase of stakeholder engagements.

The details emerged during the meeting chaired by Kenya Institute of Childhood Development chairperson Sara Ruto.

Other members of the nine-member committee are John Kimotho, Reuben Thamburi, Ann Ngatia, Ruth Mugambi, Mary Gaturu, Silvester Mulambe, David Njengere and Samuel Siringi.

Finer details show that these meetings will ride on prior consultations with university managers.

Share this story
US Embassy not ready to accept new Kenyan currency
One officer said the Central Bank of Kenya (CBK) was yet to issue a directive on the way forward.
When Njonjo almost resigned over coffee smugglers
Known as the era of black gold, it began in 1976 when Ugandan farmers decided to sell their coffee in the private market.