× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Kibaki Cabinets Arts & Culture Gender Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Matiang’i imposes 90-day curfew in parts of Lamu, Garissa, Tana River over terrorism

By Cyrus Ombati | July 9th 2017
Acting Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i

Acting Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang’i on Saturday imposed a three-month dusk to dawn curfew in Lamu, Tana River and Garissa counties to contain increased attacks by Al-Shabaab militia.

This came hours after the militants horded together and slaughtered nine men in an attack in Jima village, Lamu County.

The Lamu attack came days after another gang killed four police officers in Pandaguo area, looted and burnt valuables.

In a gazette notice, Matiang'i said the order shall be effected from July 9 to October 9, 2017.

President Uhuru Kenyatta chaired a National Security Council meeting earlier on Saturday hours after the news of the attack in Jima came out.

In his brief, the president mentioned the incident but said more details would be provided later.

“We have had an unfortunate incident this morning that we are currently assessing and addressing,” he said.

"This order shall apply during the hours of darkness between the period of 6.30pm in the evening and 6.30am in the morning," Matiang'i said.

Holugho Border Point, Galmagala, Sangailu, Masalani, Bodehei, Milimani, Baure, Basuba, Mangai and Maralani are among the areas where the curfew will apply.

Other areas include Ijara, Hola, Garsen, Kipini, Kiunga and Ishakani/ Dar-es-Salaam Border Point.

Matiang'i however said the curfew excludes the Islands of Lamu, Manda and Pate.

"Every person who resides within this Sub-Counties shall except under and in accordance with the terms and conditions of a written permit granted by the respective Deputy County Commissioner of the affected areas, remain indoors in the premises at which they reside or at such other premises as may be authorised," he said.

Share this story
Wayne Rooney has Everton medical ahead of return from Manchester United
Manchester United forward Wayne Rooney has completed a medical with Everton ahead of his much anticipated homecoming.
Diabetes: Insulin now an essential drug
Listing NCDs is a relief to Kenyans like 65-year-old Kahuho Mathai from Nyeri County, who was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes and high blood pressure.