Raila kin, Gedi top list of nominees to Commission on Revenue Allocation

Former Wajir Woman MP Fatuma Gedi. [Elvis Ogina, Standard]

Former Wajir Woman MP Fatuma Gedi and Azimio leader Raila Odinga's cousin Dr George Midiwo is among seven people nominated as members of the Commission on Revenue Allocation (CRA).

The leadership of the majority and minority parties in Parliament also nominated Benedict Mutiso, Koitamet ole Kina, Hadija Juma, Dr Isabel Waiyaki, and Jonas Kuko.

The Senate majority side (Kenya Kwanza) nominated Mr Mutiso while Mr Kina was nominated by the minority side (Azimio la Umoja One Kenya), those nominated by the National Assembly majority side are Kuko, Waiyaki and Juma while Gedi and Midiwo were nominated by the minority side.

Clerk of the National Assembly Samuel Njoroge said the Constitution requires political parties represented in the National Assembly and the Senate to nominate two and five people respectively for appointment as members of the CRA, from among persons who are not Members of Parliament.

“An appointment under the Constitution or any other law for which the approval of Parliament is required shall not be made unless the appointment is approved or deemed to have been approved by Parliament in accordance with the Constitution,” said Mr Njoroge.

National Assembly Departmental Committee on Finance and Planning shall conduct approval hearings of the nominees for appointment as members of CRA on December 5 at Parliament Buildings, Nairobi.

The nominees are required to bring their original identity card, academic and professional certificates, and certificates of compliance from the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission, Kenya Revenue Authority, Higher Education Loans Board, Directorate of Criminal Investigations and Office of the Registrar of Political Parties.

Njoroge said the committee is required by the Constitution to facilitate public participation in approval hearings of the nominees with anyone who may prior to the approval hearing and by written statement on oath, provide the Clerk with evidence contesting the suitability of a candidate to hold the office.

“The committee invites interested members of the public to submit any representations they may have by way of written statements on oath with supporting evidence contesting the suitability of any nominees for appointment to the office of a member of the Commission on Revenue Allocation,” he said.

CRA Chairperson Jane Kiringai, Vice Chairperson Humphrey Wattanga and commissioners Dr Irine Asienga, Prof Edward Oyugi, Fouzia Abdikadir, Peter Gachuba, Prof Peter Kimuyu, Kishanto ole Suuji and Dr Julius Muia, the term is almost ending.

[email protected]