Leaders say the election will lead to chaos and police brutality

Clerics and political leaders from Nyanza have asked the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) not to conduct the repeat presidential election in the region on Saturday as announced by IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati on Thursday.

The church leaders, led by Rev Canon Joshua Owiti, Rt Rev Francis Mwai Abiero, and Bishop Betty Onyango asked IEBC to return ballot papers to Nairobi and withdraw security forces from the region failure to  avoid more chaos and police brutality.

"For Chebukati to say he has requested Boinnet for assistance to ensure voting takes place specifically in Siaya, Kisumu, Homa Bay and Migori, that is a licence for State massacre in these areas," said Rev Owiti. 

Nyanza political leaders led by Kisumu Senator Fred Outa also raised their concerns and rejected Saturday repeat poll saying they were not interested to participate in the election.

"We know Chebukati is trying to justify his alleged 48 percent turnout in the sham elections but he must know we are not interested in their charade," said Senator Outa.

Chebukati on Thursday said he will have to declare the results of the repeat presidential election if voters in areas the Commission has directed to cast their ballots on Saturday do not turn up for the exercise.

However, Chebukati could not give all the names of the polling centres outside Kisumu, Siaya, Homa Bay, and Migori counties where the repeat elections were not held. He said the areas would be gazetted on Friday to enable IEBC for them to prepare for the Saturday's exercise.

"We are still working on the information (regarding all areas where there were no elections). Some could not take part in the exercise because of poor weather, others because of insecurity. The polling stations will be gazetted tomorrow (Friday) to have voters prepare for the exercise on Saturday," said Chebukati.

Residents from Nyanza region have blocked roads to prevent movement of ballot materials.

In a Friday afternoon briefing, Chebukati said IEBC has received results from 15 constituencies.