× Digital News Videos Opinions Cartoons Education U-Report E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian SDE Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS
Treasury CS Ukur Yattani (PHOTO: FILE)

Money & Careers
the Director of Public Prosecutions ordered the arrest of Henry Rotich and his PS Kamau Thugge over Kimwarer and Arror dams scandal.

President Uhuru Kenyatta has confirmed Ukur Yattani as Kenya’s National Treasury Cabinet Secretary after months of acting following the unceremonious exit of Henry Rotich.

In July last year, the Director of Public Prosecutions ordered the arrest of Henry Rotich and his PS Kamau Thugge over Kimwarer and Arror dams scandal.

Together with others, Rotich and Thugge are facing charges of conspiracy to defraud, willful failure to comply with applicable procedures, abuse of office, committing an offence of financial misconduct, fraudulent acquisition of public property among other charges.

During the few months in office as the acting Treasury CS, Yattani introduced budget cuts in both the national and county government with impact across different industries.

SEE ALSO: Strengthening monetary policy will save Kenya’s economy

In the September Memo, Yattani proposed to reduce the number of individuals accompanying cabinet secretaries and principal secretaries abroad. Even those who travel will be required to provide a befitting reason for that.

Also affected is the airtime allowance, which he sliced by 30 per cent. According to the memo, internet calls could be the best bet in cutting down such costs.

There was also a reduction in the purchase of furniture by 75 per cent. The memo was categorical that government officers on commuter allowance found to be using government transport outside working hours will be charged.

Mr Yattani is a former Governor of Marsabit County, MP of North Horr. He also served as Kenya’s  Permanent Representative at United Nations, Vienna.

Born in 1967, Yatani received his Bachelor of Arts in Economics and Sociology from Egerton University in 1991. In 2005, he joined the New York University in the UK from where he obtained a Master of Public Administration and Public Policy.

SEE ALSO: Nairobi City gets Sh26b for recovery

Other past ministers in Kenya’s Finance docket include Amos Kimunya, Uhuru Kenyatta, John Michuki, Njeru Githae, Francis Masakhalia, David Mwiraria, Christopher Obure, Chris Okemo, Simeon Nyachae, Musalia Mudavadi, George Saitoti, Arthur Magugu, Mwai Kibaki and James Gichuru

CS Henry Rotich CS Ukur Yattani Treasury

Read More