Britam owners appoint three new directors

Shareholders of Britam Holdings have approved the appointment of three new directors.

Mr George Odo, Ms Josephine Ossiya and Mr Christopher Minter have joined the firm’s board as non-executive directors following the endorsement by shareholders yesterday.

Britam Group Managing Director Benson Wairegi said the three new directors bring a wealth of expertise that will help drive growth across the markets where Britamoperates.

The company did not, however, recommend any dividend for the year ended December 31, 2018 due to a decline in performance. In 2017, it paid out Sh756.9m in dividends.

This was attributed to slow down in the stock market, depressed property market, impairment of Housing Finance investment and one-off restructuring cost.

The firm also re-elected Ms Caroline Kigen, Mr Mohamed Karama and Ms Marianne Loner as directors in the Holding company’s Board.

Wairegi said the Group performed well in its core business with growth of assets under management to Sh146.64b, a 14 percent rise from 2017.

By Fred Kagonye 2 months ago
Terry Ramadhani appointed as KEMSA new CEO
By Standard Team 4 months ago
Premium Fuel shortage in Kenya bites
By Macharia Kamau 4 months ago
Normal fuel supply to be restored this week
By Macharia Kamau 4 months ago
Juliana Rotich to head Safaricom's fintech integration unit