ODM nominates Winnie Odinga, businessman Suleiman Shahbal to EALA

Winnie Odinga. [Edward Kiplimo, Standard]

The Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party has revealed the names of six nominees to the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

The party, in a statement Wednesday, nominated Winnie Odinga, daughter to ODM Party leader Raila Odinga, Mombasa businessman Suleiman Shahbal, former Kitutu Masaba MP, and the party's National Treasurer Timothy Bosire, Former Turkana Water and Irrigation CEC Beatrice Askul, former Shinyalu MP Justus Kizito and Mohammed Diriye (Wajir).

ODM said the selection was presided over by the party's deputy leader Wycliffe Oparanya on Tuesday and narrowed down to the final six.

287 people were shortlisted for the nomination as representatives to EALA.

Kenya has nine seats in the regional parliament, as Kenya Kwanza and Azimio jostle for positions. Kenya Kwanza will get five out of nine seats being the majority in Parliamanent, while Azimio will get four seats.

Kenya Kwanza has fronted former Mombasa Senator Hassan Omar, former Laikipia Woman Representative Catherine Waruguru, Anne Too and Falhad Imad, among others, while Jubilee Party has nominated former Ndaragwa MP Jeremiah Kioni, Kanini Kega, former Wajir Woman Rep Fatuma Gedi and others.

The inspection of the nomination papers will take place on November 10 and 11 from 9 am to 4 pm.

The Standard has learnt that Kenya kwanza nominees to EALA are currently presenting their papers to the clerks.

The bicameral Parliament will then vote for the nine representatives through a secret ballot on November 17.

Those interested in vying as independent candidates may submit their applications to the House Clerk.