University bosses and politicians dominate the shortlist for PS jobs

Some of the outgoing CSs, PSs and senior government officials during their swearing-inat State House, Nairobi. [PSCU]

University vice-chancellors, scholars and media consultants are among Kenyans who applied to serve as Principal Secretaries in various ministries under the Kenya Kwanza government.

Also fighting out for the top slots are PSs who served under the Jubilee government, parastatal chiefs and political orphans who are not ready to warm up in the cold.

Leading the pack is Daystar University Vice Chancellor Prof Laban Ayiro.

South Eastern Kenya University (SEKU) Vice Chancellor Geoffrey M Muluvi, who is also the Vice Chancellors' Committee chairperson, has also been shortlisted by the Public Service Commission (PSC) for a PS job.

Also on the list is Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology (JOOUST) VC Prof Stephen Agong.

Current PSs Simon Nabukwesi (University Education), Jwan Julius (Basic Education) and Belio Kipsang (Regional and Northern Corridor Development) have also been shortlisted.

Education Chief Administrative Secretary Sara Ruto, Kenya National Qualifications Authority Director General and CEO Eusebius Juma Mukhwana and Charles Mutuma Ringera, Chief Executive Officer of the Higher Education Loans Board (Helb) are also on the list.

The list also includes media and communications expert and former Nation Media Group editor Samuel Siringi.

Dr Siringi, currently a senior lecturer of media, communications and research at the University of Nairobi, has vast experience in consultancy on strategic communications in government, private sector, the UN and World Bank.

He is also a former deputy director of the University of Nairobi's School of Journalism.

Devolution PS Charles Sunkuli, his Housing counterpart Charles Hinga and Chege Thenya Muchiri, the Director of Administration in the Ministry of Devolution and Planning, are also shortlisted.

All the shortlisted candidates will be interviewed at the PSC offices from October 12.

Patrick Amoth, the acting Director General of Health; Julius Nyagah Mwabu, Deputy Director in the Ministry of East African Community; Raymond Ochieng, Inaugural Secretary Youth Affairs at the Ministry of ICT, Innovation and Youth Affairs; Patrick Bucha, former Secretary, Housing in the State Department for Housing and Urban Development, will also face the interview panel.

Others are Moffat Kangi, former Principal Administrative Secretary Internal Security; Thuita Mwangi, former Foreign Affairs PS; Chris Kiptoo, Environment and Forestry PS; Micah Pkopus Powon, PS Ministry of Devolution and Planning; Prof Michael Kibet Kiptoo, former Chief Executive Officer of the Kenya Medical Training College; Kirimi Kaberia, former Mining and Petroleum; and Dr Andrew Mulwa, Acting Director of Medical Services and Head of Directorate of Preventive and Promotive Health.

Also awaiting to face the panel are former governors Cleophas Lagat (Nandi) and Samuel Tunai (Narok).

Other politicians on the list are former Nairobi Deputy Governor Jonathan Mueke, former Embu County Assembly Speaker Justus Kariuki Mate, and former MPs Chris Wamalwa (Kiminini), Ahmed Kolosh Mohamed (Wajir West), Sylvanus Maritim (Ainamoi), Tokei Nyitore Loten (Baringo North), Vincent M'Maitsi (Hamisi) and Michael Kingi (Magarini).

Former chief executive officers have also been shortlisted for the PS jobs. They include Nixon Kipkemoi (New Co-operatives Creameries), Wilson Kipkirui Aruasa (Moi Teaching and Referral Hospital), William Kibet (Kenya Wildlife Service), Samson Macharia (Kenya Pipeline) and Sammy Lemuke Naporos (Kerio Valley Development Authority).

Maurice Akech, former General Manager for Research, Training and Capacity Building at National Construction Authority (NCA) is also on the list.

[email protected]