Uhuru okays new reward scheme for tutors who excel in their jobs

Teachers Service Commission (TSC) chief executive Nancy Macharia (left). [Jonah Onyango, Standard]  

Teachers who excel in their jobs will now be recognised and rewarded following President Uhuru Kenyatta’s approval of a new award scheme.

Teachers Service Commission (TSC) chief executive Nancy Macharia said the Head of State has accepted the rollout of the new reward plan for teachers.

“I am happy to announce that President Uhuru Kenyatta has today graciously accepted the Commission’s proposal to introduce a Mwalimu Award to recognise well-performing teachers,” said Dr Macharia yesterday.

She said that Uhuru also directed that the TSC works with relevant officers to explore modalities of institutionalising Mwalimu Award within the existing policy and legal frameworks.

“We wish to thank the president profusely for this incredible honour that is a clear testimony of his appreciation of the teachers’ role in the education sector,” said Dr Macharia.

The development is a major win for TSC that has been pushing for recognition of teachers who excel in various fields.

Last year, TSC recognised teachers whose schools posted top grades in national examinations.

These included teachers who have put Kenya on the map in global awards.

In total, the commission recognised 31 teachers, among them Peter Tabichi of Keriko Mixed Secondary School, who was the 2019 winner of the Global Teacher Prize.

Eric Ademba of Asumbi Girls’ School, who won the African Union Continental Teacher of the Year award in 2019, and Jane Kimiti of Othaya Girls’ Secondary, who won the African Union Continental Teacher of the Year award last year were also rewarded.

The top five performers in the Kenya Certificate of Primary Education (KCPE) and Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education (KCSE) examinations were also feted.

2019 winner of the Global Teacher Prize, Peter Tabichi (centre). [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

The Commonwealth Secretariat has this year shortlisted Kenyan entries for the Sixth 2022 Commonwealth Education Awards, due to their positive impact on students, teachers and education systems across the Commonwealth

Kenya was recognised for two entries in the category of Rethinking Education for Innovation for its Basic Education Quality Improvement Programme (BEQUIP) and The Book Club from Manyatta Primary School.

Those in the Commonwealth Outstanding Teacher or School Leader include Amos Nyameino, Head of ICT and Innovations Department at Kasigau Girls Secondary School, Leonida Chepkorir Soi from Teachers’ Service Commission-Moi Forces Academy Mombasa and Peter Mokaya Tabichi a teacher at Keriko Mixed Day Secondary School.

For the 2020 KCSE, Kapsabet Boys’ principal Kipchumba Maiyo was rewarded after his school topped with mean score of 10.51. Kenya High principal Florah Mulatya was also rewarded. The school was number two nationally after posting a mean score of 10.30.

TSC also rewarded Mang’u High head teacher John Munyua, whose school was third. William Mwangi of Alliance High was rewarded too after was ranked fourth nationally.

Mary Hill Girls’ Principal Jacinter Waweru closed the top five secondary school heads rewarded by TSC, which also also rewarded five primary school head teachers.

Speaking during the release of 2021 KCPE, Macharia said teachers who exhibited good behaviour during administration of the exams will be rewarded.

Dr Macharia said among those to be rewarded are teachers who were involved in invigilation, supervision and marking of the exams.