Awards: Nigerians, Ethiopians stand out in Soya gala

Former Nigerian footballer Victor Ikpeba (left) is welcomed by Bandari FC newly appointed head coach Twahir Muhidin (right) to talk to his players after their morning training session at the Mbaraki Sports Club ahead of their KPL match against Gor Mahia FC on Saturday, January 23, 2020. [PHOTO BY GIDEON MAUNDU/STANDARD].
Nigerians and Ethiopians have dominated Sports Personality of the Year Awards gala as celebrities.

The event assembles Kenya’s finest past and current sports personalities in 15 categories and has elicited exciting fairy tales that would be fit for an Oscar Award.

Former Super Eagles star Victor Ikpeba was at Mombasa Sports Club last night to grace the 2019 Soya gala.

Ikpeba arrived in Mombasa on Wednesday aboard Standard Gauge Railway and held talks with Bandari Football Club on Thursday at Mbaraki Sports Club. He joins a list of sports celebrities who have graced Soya awards in the last one decade. Another Nigerian former international Taribo West and Daniel Amokachi have also been in Nairobi for Soya gala.

SEE ALSO :MARTIAL ARTS : Tong-Il Moo-Do Federation in Soya awards list

Celebrated Cameroonian striker Patrick M’boma who scored a memorable overhead kick against France in 1998 World Cup graced the 2014 Soya awards.

Ethiopian athletics legends Haile Gebrselassie and Meselech Melkamu, South African runners Henrik Ramallah and last year’s guest Ta Lou have also graced the event.

In 2015, former World and Olympic marathon champion Ugandan Stephen Kiprotich was at the KICC for the gala.

For More of This and Other Stories, Grab Your Copy of the Standard Newspaper.  

Mombasa has hosted the Soya gala twice having hosted it last year at the historic Fort Jesus Museum. The gala has also been used by Mombasa County government to promote local tourism.

Do not miss out on the latest news. Join the Standard Digital Telegram channel HERE.

Get the latest summary of news in your email every morning. Subscribe below

* indicates required
Sports Personality of the Year AwardsOscar Award