Today's Paper
You are here  » Home   » Kenya

IEBC gazettes names of seven presidential candidates ahead of polls

By Mercy Asamba | Published Fri, October 13th 2017 at 21:15, Updated October 13th 2017 at 21:23 GMT +3
IEBC Chairman Wafula Chebukati

The Independent and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has gazetted the names of seven presidential candidates who will participate in October 26 election.

The candidates include; Uhuru Kenyatta, Raila Odinga, Mohamed Abduba Dida,  Ekuru Aukot, Joseph Nyaga,  Japhet Kaluyu and Michael Wanaina.

The commission said Cyrus Jirongo was not eligible to participate in the fresh presidential election as he was declared bankrupt by the High court.

The IEBC decision to include all the presidential candidates came after High Court Justice John Mativo delivered a verdict that all candidates who participated in the August 8 General Election were entitled to participate in the fresh Presidential Election.

Ekuru, Thirdway Alliance leader, in a meeting with IEBC officials at Anniversary towers on Friday protested IEBC move. He said that only his name should be included in the list of those who will take part in the repeat poll.

He insisted that orders issued by High Court Judge Mativo were specific, that only his name be included in the ballot.

NASA leader Raila Odinga who had declared intension to pull out of the race insisting that he can only do so after IEBC is reformed has also been included in the race.

Avoid fake news! Subscribe to the Standard SMS service and receive factual, verified breaking news as it happens. Text the word 'NEWS' to 22840

Would you like to get published on Standard Media websites? You can now email us breaking news, story ideas, human interest articles or interesting videos on: [email protected]