Trump joins leaders in saluting Uhuru for win

US President Donald Trump

World leaders continued to congratulate President Uhuru Kenyatta for his re-election.

The leaders asked Kenyans to reject violence and those with disputes to petition the courts.

US President Donald Trump’s administration described the election an important step forward and acknowledged statements by international observers terming the elections credible.

“The United States congratulates the people of Kenya on the successful conclusion of elections, and President Uhuru Kenyatta on his re-election. We commend the dedication of candidates, officials, and the public to upholding a peaceful, fair, and transparent contest, and we welcome the statements by international and domestic observer missions affirming the credibility of the election,” read a statement by the White House Press Secretary.

It added: “We are troubled by reports that some demonstrations have turned violent, and call on all Kenyans to reject violence and resolve disputes in accordance with the Kenyan Constitution and the rule of law. We welcome calls by President Kenyatta for peace and national unity.”

State House also said Chinese President Xi Jinping had told President Kenyatta he welcomed continued cooperation between the two nations.

“During your participation in the Road and Belt Forum for International Cooperation in Beijing last May, we had an in-depth exchange of views on the development of bilateral relations and reached extensive consensus. I attach high importance to China-Kenya relations and I am ready to work with Your Excellency,” Jinping said.

The European Union also congratulated the President in a message delivered by the EU Vice President and High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Federica Mogherini.

Continued cooperation

Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu pledged continued cooperation with Israel in the areas of agriculture and security.

Other messages have been received from heads of state and/or government of United Kingdom, Spain, Belgium, Rwanda, Uganda, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Somalia, Burundi, and South Sudan.