You are here  » Home   » Kenya

Chief Justice David Maraga moves 128 judges in major reshuffle

By Protus Onyango | Published Mon, January 9th 2017 at 00:00, Updated January 8th 2017 at 21:31 GMT +3
Chief justice David Maraga reshuffles judges. (Photo: Collins Oduor/Standard)

Chief Justice David Maraga has reshuffled 128 Judges across the country.

The transfers affected the High Court, Environment and Land as well as Employment and Labour Relations courts.

Judges moved include Justice George Odunga who will now head the Judicial Review Division assisted by Justice Roselyn Aburili.

Justice Msagha Mbogholi will head Nairobi's Milimani High Court Civil Division while the presiding judge at the Commercial Division is now Justice Fred Ochieng.

Justice Enock Chacha Mwita is the new head of the Constitutional and Human Rights Division while the Criminal Division now has Justice Jessie Lesiit as the presiding judge.

Aggrey Muchelule is the presiding judge in the Family Division. The Anti-corruption and Economic Crimes Division will be headed by Hedwig Ong'udi.

Justice Nderi Nduma is the presiding judge of Nairobi's Employment and Labour Relations court.

Maureen Odero is the presiding judge in Nakuru as Crispin Nagilla takes over in Nyamira. Christine Meoli is the presiding judge in Naivasha.


Justice Jairus Ngaah is the presiding judge in Nyeri while Justus Bwonwong'a takes over in Narok and Roseline Wendoh in Nyandarua.

Siaya's presiding judge is James Makau while Stephen Riechi is the presiding judge in Lodwar.

Other presiding judges include Justice Nancy Kamau (Voi), Martin Muya (Bomet), Weldon Korir (Busia),

Robert Limo (Chuka), George Kimondo (Eldoret) and Florence Muchemi (Embu).

George Dulu is the new presiding judge in Garissa, while Asenath Ongeri takes over in Garsen/Hola, Hellen Omondi in Homa Bay and Reuben Nyakundi in Kajiado.

In Kakamega, Ruth Sitati is the new presiding judge. Others include Edward Muriithi (Kabarnet), Stephen Githinji (Kapenguria), Mumbi Ngugi (Kericho) and Joel Ngugi (Kiambu).

Joseph Karanja takes over in Kisii while David Majanja will preside in Kisumu.

Lilian Mutende, Said Chitembwe and Kiarie wa Kiarie are the presiding judges in Kitui, Malindi and Marsabit respectively.

Pauline Nyamweya is the new boss in Machakos while Charles Kariuki presides in Makueni.

Alfred Mabeya will preside in Meru, Anthony Mrima in Migori, Hatari Waweru in Murang'a and Hillary Chemite in Kitale.

Eric Ogolla is the presiding judge in Mombasa as justices Patrick Otieno, Dora Chepkwony, Mugure Thande and Margaret Mwangi serve in the High Court.

Anne Omollo, Kimutai Yano and Loice Komingoi will serve in Mombasa's Environment and Land court as James Riika and Onesmus Makau serve in the Labour Relations court.