Athletics Kenya and ‘rebels’ reach ceasefire after lengthy meeting

AK treasurer David Miano (left), chairman Isaiah Kiplagat and Paul Mutwii address media, yesterday. [PHOTO: JONAH ONYANGO]


Recent wrangles within Athletics Kenya (AK) federation seems to have cooled down  following a long day meeting between the embattled President Isaiah Kiplagat and the affiliates chairmen held at Riadha House in Nairobi on Wednesday.

Both sides said they reached an agreement and successfully buried the wrangles that tore them apart for the past three months.

There will be a meeting on October 25-26 to be attended by AK executive committee, affiliates and branches chairmen where the federation’s constitution will be reviewed.

The officials will also discuss grey matters including their relationship and forthcoming international championships  – the Commonwealth, Youth Africa Championships, the Youth Olympics among others.

The contentious issues that made the parties not to see eye to eye revolved around the Special General Meeting (SGM), new constitution and newly introduced positions at the federation.

“We are now one happy family. We have agreed that none of us is bigger than the federation. We have both agreed to bury the hatchet. No more controversies between us,” said Kiplagat.

Affiliates representative Paul Mutwii, who is also the Southern chairman, confirmed to FeverPitch that all the contentious issues were ironed out in the meeting with the exception of the new constitution which he said both sides will work on during the next meeting.

“We have reached amicable agreement to discard our requested SGM that was scheduled for October 10 in Nairobi,” Mutwii added.

He said they will keep on meeting regularly to discuss issues that may arise to jeopardise their found relationship.

“We have appointed athletic veterans and old federation members to help us mend this constitution and if there are issues to be discussed or changed then they will be determined in our next Annual General Meeting scheduled for next year,” Kiplagat said.

Branches and chairmen in attendance include Paul Tuitoek (Universities), Francis Afundi (Western), Joseph Ochieng (Nyanza North), Peter Angwenyi (Nyanza South), John Wachira (South Rift), Peninah Kinyua (Police), Barnaba Korir (Nairobi), Abdulahi Salat (North Eastern), Joseph Kinyua (Eastern), Mutwii (Southern), Dimmy Kisalu (Coast), Solomon Mutai (Central Rift) and David Miano (Central). Apologies were sent by Police, Kenya Defence Forces and Prisons branches.                                      

[email protected]

The Standard
Make this Easter memorable with our KES999 annual offer!