You are here  » Home   » Nairobi

Groups seeks to stop polls

By - | Published Wed, December 26th 2012 at 00:00, Updated December 26th 2012 at 12:34 GMT +3

By Isaiah Lucheli

Nairobi, Kenya: A coalition of ten political parties has moved to court seeking for the extension of the term of the current Parliament and to stop the General Election.

Political Parties Forum Coalition sought the High Court to bar the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) from publishing notices to initiate presidential, parliamentary, governor and county assemblies elections.

In the petition the political parties prayed the court intervenes and halts the gazettement of a notice which initiates the elections.

They said the December 4, 2012 deadline for political parties to submit pre-election coalition agreement with the Registrar of Political Parties was unconsitutional because the IEBC has not published the election calendar.

Through lawyer Kibe Mungai, the forum based its argument on a High Court ruling in a suit filed by Kilome MP Harun Mwau, which ruled that the date of the General Election would be 60 days after the expiry term of Parliament that lapses on January 14.

In their petition they also argued that the President did not have powers to dissolve Parliament following the repealing of the old Constitution.

The ruling stated in part: “The body entitled under the Constitution to fix the date of the first elections within 60 days of the expiry of the term of the National Assembly or upon dissolution of the National Coalition is the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission.

The parties, which include Labour Party of Kenya, Mwangaza Party, Agano Party, New Democrats, Peoples Party of Kenya, Progressive Party of Kenya, Maendeleo Democratic Party, Conservative Party, National Labour Party and Peoples Patriotic Party of Kenya have sued the AG, IEBC, National Assembly, the Speaker and Constitutional Implementation Oversight Committee.

The parties are also seeking the court to issue an order compelling the Tenth Parliament to continue carrying out its duties until the first National Assembly and first Senate have been elected.