Captain Odongo upbeat as Nyanza Golf Club hosts Stanbic Bank Golf tourney

Nyanza Golf Club captain Tom Odongo during a past golf event.[Nyanza Golf Club]

Nyanza Golf Club captain Thomas Odongo is confident he will perform above par when over 100 golfers converge at the Lake Victoria shore greens for the 2023 Stanbic Bank Golf Tournament in Kisumu on Saturday.

Speaking to the Standard Sports, Odongo said they are more than ready to host the tourney themed ‘Let’s play golf.’

“It is such a honor to host the Stanbic Bank golf Tournament, as Nyanza Club we are delighted that Stanbic Bank accepted to partner with us in developing this great game of golf and we hope all the golfers will enjoy our gf course and interact with Stanbic Bank.

“This is also an opportunity for our golfers to fight for the prizes which can be utilized at a personal level to grow in golf,” said Odongo.

Amit Shah bunker shot at the course during the Standard Kisumu Classic Series at the Par 70 Nyanza Golf Club in Kisumu City.[Samson Wire. Standard].

M. Oduor, T. Omore, C. Obare and ANO will take the first tee from 7.15am followed by N. Winja, N. Odhiambo, J. Osike and T. Agumbi from 7.30am

Men will play off Nyanza men’s Course one (Kifaru) while the ladies will play off Nyanza women’s course two (Nyati) as the format of play shall be Stableford.

At the end of the one-day event, the competition organisers will award the Overall winner, Men winner, Men Runner Up, Lady Winner and Lady Runner Up.

Nishal Shah swing shot at the course during the Standard Kisumu Golf Classic Series at the Par 70 held at Nyanza Club. [Samson Wire. Standard].

The First and Second Nine Winners will also be awarded alongside Division One, Two and Three winners which will aslo include the first and second runners up in each category.

Others will include Guest Winner, Guest Runner Up, Longest Drive Man/Lady, Nearest To Pin Man/Lady, Hidden hole, Best Effort Man/Lady, Staff Winner and Staff Runner Up.


1 M. Oduor T. Omore C. Obare ANO-7.15am

2 N. Winja N. Odhiambo J. Osike T. Agumbi-7.30am

3 I. Noo M. Mundia S. Muhadi N. Nyambogo (Jnr)- 7.45am

4 T. See (Jnr) K. Wakwabubi R. Omondi P. Chepkemboi-8.00am

5 J. Ocholla P. Mogendi Eng. J. Odongo L. Nyambogo (Jnr)- 8.15am

6 B. V Patel B. S Patel Z. Bichage J. Songwa-8.30am

7 J. Atito A. Ojonyo E. Mbakaya C. Anyonyi-8.45am

8 D. Karia N. Shah R. Angote A. Nyanusi-9.00am

9 M. Patel J. Mundia C. Riaroh I. Opakas-9.15am

10 B. Madete J. Anzabwa H. Othieno J. Mitei-9.30am

11 C. Handa E. Siganga B. Aidah V. Muhando-9.45am


12 O. Abubakar Dr. Lusi J. S. Ongalo P. Nyangweso-10.00am

13 R. Osangale Dr. W. Jimbo L. Akelo I. Ashioya-10.15am

14 S. I Ogejo B. Shikuku  J. Ashioya L. Selestin-10.30am

15 E. Mburu Dr. R. Obara J. Ochieng B. Bisonga-10.45am

16 T. Odongo L. Jebichii  E. Akinyi J. Ogweche-11.00am

17 P. Otieno D. Mwaura E. Menach S. Opuka-11.15am

18 J. Oketch K. Chandaria K. Omamo ANO-11.30am


19 S. Deya G. Penesar J. Akhonya ANO-12.45pm

20 P. Thakrar A. Shah D. Riaroh D. Omollo-1.00pm

21 J. Pabari B.M Shah G. Owino J. Omollo-1.15pm

22 R. Sandhu F. Odhiambo S. Onyango D. Chotai-1.30pm

Mombasa to host national 5-a-side tournament today
It's Faith again! Kipyegon breaks 5000m world record
Omanyala comes second again in Paris Diamond League
Wanyonyi dips to become fastest man in the world in 800m