Muthaiga claims victory as the Tannahill Shield tourney begins in Nairobi

Limuru Country Club’s Dennis Maara. [Maarufu Mohamed, Standard]

Muthaiga Golf Club team started on a high note to claim the Senior category victory in the opening of this year’s ongoing 99th, Tannahill Shield Golf Tournament at Royal Nairobi Golf Club on Tuesday.

The ten man team led by their Team Manager Ganeeve Giddie carded a combined total of 496 gross from two rounds of Monday’s 251 gross and yesterday’s 245 gross to emerge this year’s Senior team winner’s beating a team of other eight Clubs.

The Muthaiga Team consists of Manager Ganeev Giddie, Players Kavit Bhakoo, Bio Ciero, Bhavnish Chandaria, Shashwat Harish, John Gitonga, Khshil Nathawani, Ben Murimi, and David Ombis.

A total of nine Clubs across the Country have assembled together their best to compete in this week long Century old annual tournament that traditionally takes place around the Easter Holidays with over 200 golfers featuring Amateurs, seniors and juniors.

Host RoyalGolf Club was second on a combined total of 518 gross from 264gross and 254 gross in both days while Kenya Railways sat third on a total of 521 gross (269 gross-252gross).

Karen was fourth on a count back score of 530 gross after tying on the same score with fifth placed Western Kenya Team.

The last three teams are Mombasa 531 gross, Vet Lab-532gross and Sigona had a combined total of 534gross.

The tournament regarded as one of the most prestigious amateur golf events in sub Saharan Africa, features best Amateur players from the host Royal Nairobi Golf Club, Muthaiga Country Club, Karen Country Club, Vetlab Sports Club, Railway Golf Club, Western Kenya, Mombasa Golf Club, Limuru Country Club and the defending champions Sigona Golf Club.

Host Captain Richard Owino said that the weeklong event started on Monday with the seniors aged over 55 years’ old who played for days till Tuesday afternoon.

Mombasa Golf Club’s Team Manager Eric Nyongesa.[Maarufu Mohamed,Standard]

Owino said the main Amateurs' three days clash gets underway during the Easter Holidays from Good Friday (March 29th) to Sunday (March,31st) and Juniors take on the course on Monday,1st and Tuesday,2nd April before they return back to School for Exams.

The Captain further said that the Club was happy and ready to host the guests and further explained that this Tournament is played by teams instead of individuals unlike in other golf events.

Mombasa Golf Club’s tenman team led by Team Manager Eric Nyongesa and Club Captain Francis Muthamia said they are hopeful to recover and claim victories in the remaining two events.

Nyongesa said the team with two National team players Adel Balala and Josphat Rono is determined to win this year’s Tannahill trophy having come a strong second last year to Sigona.

“We are still in a celebrating mood after our Ladies won the Coast Inter Ladies at Malindi just last weekend and we as the Club’s Men team will not let anyone down. This is the strongest Men's team Mombasa Golf Club has presented in the last 5 years and we are all determined and ready to bring the trophy to the Sea-Link Mombasa Club, “said Nyongesa.

All focus from the Coast now shifts to the Men side on whether they will make the Mombasa Golf Club proud again to set the ongoing celebrations going a week after the Club’s Ladies team clinched the recent Coast Inter Ladies title at Malindi last weekend.

Defending Champion Sigona (Tannahill Shield) Club Captain Pratik Sanghrajka said they are ready to defend the title and will leave no stone unturned since they also prepared well in terms of extensive training and course endurance.

“It’s game on for us. We have been working hard at work in our training to try and retain the Shield again and record two times, “said Sanghrajka.

The Tannahill Shield is the brainchild of Major Arthur Tannahill and was inaugurated in 1924 as an annual event when the general committee of the then Nairobi Golf Club invited teams representing Mombasa, Nyeri,Kiambu Nakuru, and Muthaiga to participate in the tournament.

Royal Nairobi Golf Club’s Jeff Kubwa.[Maarufu Mohamed,Standard]

Royal Nairobi Golf Club is a prestigious private members’ golf Club and is the only club in Kenya with the Royal status that reciprocates with all other Royal Chartered Clubs Worldwide.

This is Kenya’s oldest club that was founded as a 9-hole golf course with a basic club house and was founded in 1906, and in 2006 it celebrated a Century of Golfing.

The first captain of the Club, Mr. C. Hirtzell, was duly elected on 14th April 1908, and the Club’s first President Sir Charles Bowring took office in 1920, while first lady Captain took office in 1933.

The history of golf in Kenya is intertwined with the history of RNGC being the oldest Golf Club in the Nation and always referred to as ‘the real home of golf’ in Kenya.

RNGC continues to host the oldest golf tournament in Kenya namely the Easter Tournament (Tannahill Shield) and brings together the country’s top Amateur golfers over three days during Easter since 1924.

In 1938, it was decided to rename the trophy awarded to the winning team during the Tournament as the Tannahill Shield, in appreciation of Mr. Tannahill who donated the shield, and was the first Honorary Secretary of Kenya Golf Union (KGU).

He also served as the president of RNGC and the first meeting of KGU was held at RNGC in 1923.



Team Manager-Tom Muchina,Captain-Josiah Kogo,PrO-Jeff Kubwa,Player Jatinda Thethy,George Eshuchi,Willy Mastamet,Paul Ngugi,Korby Gatiramu,Abner Kungu,paul Ichangi,Collis Too, Edwin Kinisu; 


Team Captain-Peter Kariuki,Pro-Edwin Mudanyi, Players Nathan Mwangi,Emmanuel Agengo,Ali Mohamed,Liban Roba,Antony Gichuki,Robert Keter,James Ngotho,Paul Kaguamba,Wambugu Wambugu,Lesaan Shani. 


Team manager-Paul Kahura,Captainjames Githinji,Players Dennis Maara,Francis Kimani,Pual Muchangi,Joseph Ikanyi,John Kariuki,Solomon Mumbi,Peter Kinuthia,Jeff Macharia,david Irimu, Kevin Muchiri. 


Team Manager-Eric Nyongesa,Captain-Francis Muthamia,Players Henry Kamau,Sammy Mulama,Charles Rob,Gurbux Singh,Josephat Rono,Adel Balala,Feisal Lasker,William Kaguta,Andrew Wahome,Nathan Ngweno. 


Team Manager Ganeev Giddie,Players Kavit Bhakoo,Bio Ciero,Bhavnish Chandaria,Shashwat Harish, John Gitonga,Khshil Nathawani,Ben Murimi,David Ombis;

SIGONA;Team Manager-C.J.Wangai,Captain-Pratik Snahrajka,Players Akshay Chandaria,Sandeep Matharu,Alim Popat,Sam King’ori,Dinesh Vara,Mitanshi Thacker,Tesevi Soni,Yuvi Rajput,Ronak Malde; 


Team Manager-Tom Osoro,Captain-Geofrey Yego,Pro-Jacob Okello,Players Edward Manywanda,Edwin Murungi,Anthony Muhoro,Joseph Gathumbi,Morgan Kipkurui,William Moturi,Kaash Padam,Fidhelis Kimanzi,John Kamenyi,John Lejirma;


Team Manager-Aaron Kitur,Captain- Robert Nyanchonga,Players Tej Bachu,Victor Maiyo,Frankline Kipyator,Ken Serem,Nelson Koech,John Kirubi,Geoffrey Karioki,Kimeli Mutai,Kimeli Mutai; 


Team Manager-Ali Orende,Players Chrispine Owuor,Jack Mwangi,Ebill Omollo,Maina Iraki,Lee Njoroge,Isaac Makhoha,Steve Orinda.Krish Beiju,Azeez Mussaji,Carl Wambasi;

By AFP 1 hr ago
Man City win historic fourth straight Premier League title
All hail K'Ogalo! Gor Mahia win record 21st Premier League title
Kenya Sevens to play Germany in Challenger Series quarters
By AFP 12 hrs ago
'We had a great time': Klopp ready to wave goodbye to Anfield crowd