Experience finally pays off for Gathumbi at Railways meet

Onassis Ndegwa lines his tee-shot during the Captain Prize at Kenya Railway Golf Club, November 25, 2023. [Mose Sammy, Standard]

After all was said and done, Joseph Gathumbi stood tall as the overall winner of the Captain (Onassis Ndegwa) 2023 prize at Kenya Railway Golf Club over the weekend.

Gathumbi, who has over 15 top-ten finishes in the ongoing Kenya Amateur Golf Championship (KAGC) series, had the last laugh during the two-day meet with a differential score of 33 points to lift the title during the meet presented by, Old Mutual,
Equity Bank, Kenya Railways Corporation, CIC Insurance Group, Madison Group, NCBA and
Minet Kenya.

Others were LiB Insurance brokers, Safaricom Limited, East African Breweries Limited (Eabl), Tilil Technologies, Dubai Investment Bank (DIB) and Friends of the Captain. 

Playing off handicap 2, he posted 73nett on Friday and wound up Saturday’s round with 40 stableford points to secure the win.

“I had a great round playing on regulation throughout my round, as my experience played a crucial part in navigating the soggy course. I missed several birdies and ended up saving pars. I feel good with the win,” said Gathumbi.

Moses Oketch, playing off handicap 19, won the overall winner second prize on a score of 37 differential points, with last year’s Captain prize winner, James Karuga, settling for the overall winner third prize on 39 differential points.

Club Vice-chairman, Jonathan Marucha emerged as the best former captain winner on 44 differential points, with Jimmy Semenye taking home the overall Junior prize on a score of 45 differential points.

Senior golfer FN Kungu bagged the Men winner prize on a score of 38 stableford points, beating Ndung’u Nderitu on countback after he returned an identical score of 38 stableford points.

The course was playing tough due to waterlogged fairways that forced the match committee to allow golfers to tee up on the seventh and eighth fairways. Most of those who took part in the event struggled with their shot execution throughout their rounds.

Starring in the ladies’ title hunt was Joyce Gikunda after she carded 33 stableford points. Handicap 22, Paul Muema won the Guest winner prize on a score of 36 stableford points. The gross winner prize was won by a handicap six, Geoffrey Yego, who had 83 gross points.

Nearest to Pin Men winner prize was won by Wilson Thiuru, with Irene Kimeu winning the Nearest to Pin Lady winner prize.

Martin Nderi sank every golfer’s dream, an ace, on the par-three 14th hole.

Incoming captain, Edward Manywanda, won the Longest Drive Men prize on the par-five 10th hole, with Hellen Manyara taking the Longest Drive Lady winner prize.

Reflecting on his tenure, Onassis Ndegwa thanked the club’s membership for the support they accorded his captaincy.

By Sammy Mose 7 days ago
Maiyo wins inaugural KAM golf tournament
Nigeria's Super Eagles soar to AFCON final
AFCON hosts Ivory Coast aim to overcome DR Congo in semifinals
Nigeria sets sights on AFCON finals, confident against South Africa