Mbuba emerges victories in ladies' match play at Royal

Diana Mbuba in action at the Royal Nairobi Club on August 29, 2023. [Courtesy]

Home club’s Diana Mbuba survived on a sudden death playoff to clinch the Kenya Ladies 2023 Open Amateur Match play Championship title at the par 72 Royal Nairobi Golf course in Nairobi County on Sunday.

She beat the defending champion Mercy Nyanchama of VetLab Sports Club through the extra holes on the 22nd hole after both had tied square at the final 18th, normal hole.

Nyanchama who was tipped to retain the title found the going tough and was placed the runners up.

“This victory comes as a reward for my relentless practice and hard work behind the scenes. I expected to shine today because I have been training so hard for this championship. Of course, I competed against some top amateur golfers in the country who demonstrated prowess and experience and I am now looking forward to upcoming tournaments and I can’t wait to compete again because golf is a sport I love so much. I also thank God for this great day," Mbuba said.

The three-days event, part of the ongoing Kenya Ladies Golf Union (KLGU) calendar series for this year that kicked off since last Friday attracted top leading lady golfers across the country.

Mukami Wangai was the Division A winner beating runners up placed Florence Maina 2/1.

The B Division was won by Eunice Kilonzo 3/2 against Veronica Muthiani who was the runners up.

Kanani Muthoni carded a count back score of 39 points to win the AM subsidiary section after tying on the same score with runners up placed Caroline Kadikinyi and taking the third slot was Shelmith Muraguri on 37 points.

The PM winners of Foursomes on 38 points were Christine Mathenge and Frankie Gichuru.

Elsewhere handicap 17 Malindi Club captain Walter Juma took control of his par 70 Malindi Golf Club course in Kilifi County over the weekend  to claim the overall title on 42 points beating Peter Pohland to the runners up slot by a three points difference.

The tournament supported by DTB saw handicap 52 Njambi Wasige win the lady’s title on 40 points while Nancy Gatwiri returned 38 points to sit second.

James Mutua was the Men runners-up on 37 points and the first Nine on 17 points and second nine winners with 18 were Enzo Zilettti and Alloise Ogolla respectively.

By Sammy Mose 3 days ago
Maiyo wins inaugural KAM golf tournament
Nigeria's Super Eagles soar to AFCON final
AFCON hosts Ivory Coast aim to overcome DR Congo in semifinals
Nigeria sets sights on AFCON finals, confident against South Africa