Top scorer Omalla chases history as Gor Mahia face Bidco

Benson Omalla of Gor Mahia celebrates after scoring in a past match.[Jonah Onyango,Standard]

Golden boot hopeful Benson Omalla will be seeking to continue with his fine form when Gor Mahia entertain Bidco United in the FKF Premier League match set to be played at Nyayo Stadium on Sunday from 3pm.

Omalla who has netted 18 goals has already surpassed Elvis Rupia’s 17 goals he scored during the 2020-2021 season to finish runners up.

The former Western Stima striker is six goals shy of Eric Kapaito’s 24 goals the former Kariobangi Sharks striker scored in the 2020-2021 season.

Gor Mahia have beaten Bidco United in all their six encounters in the league since they were promoted in the 2020/21 season.

K’Ogalo have dropped four points in the last two matches following their defeat to Mathare United (2-1) and draw against Nzoia Sugar (2-2).

Second-placed KCB (36 points) will also be out to bag maximum points as the league enters Round 19 this weekend.  

Nzoia Sugar and Tusker, who have played 18 matches and 17 matches respectively, are tied on 34 points and will be looking to close in on the two top sides.

KCB face Kariobangi Sharks at Kasarani Annex as Nzoia Sugar and Tusker have a date with Bandari and FC Talanta respectively.

Other matches will see AFC Leopards, who are only two points off the top four face resurgent Mathare United.

Sunday’s FKF Premier League fixtures

Homeboyz v Kenya Police-Bukhungu Stadium

Gor Mahia v Bidco-Nyayo Stadium

Bandari v Nzoia Sugar-Mbaraki

Talanta v Tusker-Ruaraka

Kariobangi Sharks v KCB-Kasarani Annex (3.15pm)

Mathare United v AFC Leopards-Kasarani Stadium

Wazito v Vihiga Bullets-Muhoroni Stadium

Posta Rangers v Ulinzi Stars-Kasarani Annex (1pm)

(All matches kick off 3pm unless stated)

Who can stop Man City? Challengers need big offseason to set up Premier League title shot
Why Tusker can't afford to stumble
Unique Sports
Premier Club stuns rivals at Nairobi Age Group swimming gala
KPA women just one win from league title in best of five ties