AFC Leopards win 2022 Elijah Lidonde Memorial Cup

AFC Leopards players celebrate after scoring a goal against Vihiga Bullets during their Elijah Lidonde semifinal match at Mumias Sports Complex on July 9 2022. [AFC Leopards] 

AFC Leopards are the 2022 Elijah Lidonde Memorial Cup champions.

Leopards were crowned champions after edging out Nzoia Sugar 8-7 in post-match penalties in the match staged at Bukhungu Stadium on Sunday.

Ingwe goalkeeper Maxwell Mulili was the heroe of the day after he saved two penalties before scoring the winner to lead AFC Leopards to victory.

Both sides settled for a barren draw in normal time, forcing the tie to be decided through post match penalties.

Moses Giovani, Washington Munene, Josephat Lopaga, Saad Musa, Erick Mbithi, Musa Oundo, Rooney Shichenje and Muchesia scored for Leopards in the win as Tedian Esilaba, Bonface Mukhekhe and Lewis Bandi missed.

Nzioa scored through Bonface Kweyu, Gamwnuel Esekori, James Kibanda  Kevin Marie and Levis Okello. Keeper Benson Mangala's kick hit the post. 

Leopards were awarded Sh1 million. Ingwe secured a final berth after beating Vihiga Bullets 5-3 in the semi-final clash staged at the Mumias Sports Complex on Saturday.

At the same time, Nzoia Sugar put Kakamega Homeboyz to the sword with a statement 5-2 victory.

In the third place finals, Vihiga Bullets beat Homeboyz 5-4 to finish third.

This saw runners up Nzoia, Vihiga Bullets and Homeboyz walked away with Sh500,000, Sh400,000 and Sh250,000 respectively.

By Agencies Jan. 27, 2023
Man United inch closer to League Cup final
By Xinhua Jan. 27, 2023
Bayern in turmoil ahead of PSG duel
By Xinhua Jan. 27, 2023
Barcelona and Osasuna book semifinal places
By Associated Press Jan. 16, 2023
Liverpool's season hits new low amid off-field uncertainty