× Sports Football Rugby Olympics Volleyball and Handball Cricket Boxing Golf Hockey Tennis Gossip & Rumours World Cup 2018 Basketball Athletics Sports Premier League Eliud Kipchoge Women in Sports Unique Sports Opinion Motorsport Videos Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Kapaito leads golden boot race, Ulinzi’s Saruni eyes golden glove

FOOTBALL By Washington Onyango | August 10th 2021
Kariobangi Sharks' Eric Kapaito and Geoffrey Onyango celebrating a goal during round Twenty Seven of FkF Premier League match against Gor Mahia at Thika Stadium on Wednesday, July 21, 2021. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

Kariobangi Sharks striker Erick Kapaito is leading the race to win the 2021 FKF Premier League golden boots with three games left to the end of the season.

Despite not scoring in his last three matches against KCB, Homeboyz and Mathare United, Kapaito is the leading top scorer with 22 goals.

AFC Leopards danger man Elvis Rupia follows in second place with 16 goals, six goals behind Kapaito who won the then 2018 KPL golden boot with the same number of goals as Rupia.

Sofapaka’s Lawrence Juma is third in the list with 14 goals after enjoying his best goal scoring season so far in the Premier League with Batoto ba Mungu.

Bandari’s William Wadri follows in fourth with 13 goals as title hopefuls KCB’s Derrick Otanga closes the top five with 12 goals.

With three games left, fans will now await to see if Kapaito will break the 38 year-old standing record of 28 goals.

Kapaito is six goals shy of Charles Odero’s (Scarlet FC) feat (28 goals) he achieved in the 1983 season.

Elsewhere, Ulinzi Stars goalkeeper James Saruni is leading the race to winning the 2021 golden glove award.

Saruni has 12 clean sheets to his name this season followed by KCB’s James Okoth with 11 clean sheets same as Steve Njunge of Nairobi City Stars.

FKF-PL Top Scorers

Erick Kapaito-22 (Kariobangi Sharks)

Elvis Rupia-16 (AFC Leopards)

Lawrence Juma-14 (Sofapaka)

William Wadri-13 (Bandari)

Derrick Otanga-12 (KCB)


Share this story
Harambee Stars goalkeeper Shikalo parts away with Tanzanian giants Yanga
Record Tanzanian football champions Young Africans SC have parted ways with Harambee Stars goalkeeper Farouk Shikhalo.
Opening Ceremony: Kenya takes her pride of place as 2020 Tokyo Paralympic Games begin
Team Kenya Paralympics strolled majestically into the Tokyo Olympic Stadium led by captain Rodgers Kiprop and Powerlifter Hellen Wawira for the Openin