Kenya to host inaugural CECAFA Women’s Champions League

Football Kenya Football (FKF) President Nick Mwendwa (L) and CEO Barry Otieno. [File, Standard]

Kenya will host the inaugural 2021 CECAFA Women’s Champions League in July.

Football Kenya Federation (FKF) CEO Barry Otieno confirmed that Kenya was nominated to host 11 nations from the East African region.

“The tournament will feature 11 countries inclusive of hosts Kenya and will run from July 17 to August 1,” said Otieno.

Apart from Kenya, other nations expected to grace the new tournament include neighbour and fierce rivals Uganda, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Sudan, South Sudan, Zanzibar, Djibouti, Eritrea, Rwanda and Burundi.

The federation also confirmed that FKF Women’s Premier League defending champions Vihiga Queens will represent Kenya in the 15-day tournament to be played in Nairobi.

“In view of the foregoing and taking into consideration that Vihiga Queens are the reigning champions of the local women’s premier league, we are pleased to inform Vihiga Queens that they will be representing Kenya in the champions league,” said Otieno.

Women Premier League side Vihiga Queens training at Mumias Sports Complex before their match against Eldoret Falcons on Nov 5, 2017. [Eric Lungai, Standard]

FKF has urged Vihiga Queens to start early preparations for the inaugural tourney.

The defending champions were leading the Zone B Premier League standings with 28 points from 10 matches played before sports were suspended in the country due to the rising cases of COVID-19.

CECAFA Champions League nations

Kenya Djibouti, Eritrea, Rwanda, Burundi, Zanzibar

Uganda, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Sudan, South Sudan

By AFP 21 hrs ago
'Back to business' Arsenal grind out Wolves win to go top
Mashemeji Derby: Bring it on! Ingwe dare rivals K'Ogalo
Kenyan stars impress at Kip Keino Classic
Omanyala floored in 100m as meeting records fall at Kip Keino Classic