Police retains the National Boxing League title

Bernard Okulo (in blue) from Kentrack ABC trade punches with Elly Ajowi (in red) from the Kenya Police ABC in their heavy weight category semi finals during the Sportpesa Boxing Kenya National League championship at the Modern Fitness Boxing Lounge in Mombasa, April 15, 2016. Ajowi won the bout 3-0. [PHOTO BY GIDEON MAUNDU/STANDARD]. 

Although it appeared as a herculean task for them, league champions Kenya Police have eventually retained the National Boxing League title for the third consecutive year.

They did it in style after scooping 24 points to win the fifth and final leg of the league championships at Madison Square Garden in Nakuru over the weekend.

The victory saw the policemen’s points tally move to unassailable 133 to retain the title ahead of their bitter archrivals Kenya Defence Forces who finished runners up with 112 points ahead of Nairobi County who came a distant third with 46 points.

Finishing fourth was Kibra with 29 points followed by Kisumu with 15, Kajiado with 14, Githurai-44 with 14, Kongowea with 13, Vihiga with 12, Laikipia with 10, Mbaraki with six, Siaya with six, Dallas Muthurwa five, Meru five, Nakuru three and Trans Nzoia one points.

“I feel super elated for the victory as the boys have done it again!” exclaimed Kenya Police head coach David Munuhe.

Finishing second in the Nakuru championships was KDF who posted 19 points ahead of Nairobi’s 13, Kibra six as Vihiga and Kajiado tied on five points apiece to finish fifth with Kongowea and hosts Nakuru also tying with three points apiece to finish seventh.

Tying at the ninth position with two points apiece was Githurai 44, Mbaraki and Dallas Muthurwa with Siaya lying at the bottom with a point.

Africa Zone Three super heavyweight gold medallist Elly Ajowi who boxes for Kenya Police retained the national title after winning all five finals of that weight category.

“I feel elated with this record and the onslaught must continue next season before we feature in a number of international championships lined up for us next year,” Ajowi told Standard Sports.

He (Ajowi) defeated Erick Otengo in the finals in a Referee Stop the Contest (RSC)-rule to win the title in a series of five victories.

And Nakuru was lucky to snatch away a victory after Valentine Mwinami defeated experienced policemen Tobias Okeyo on first-round abandonment in the heavyweight.


Minimumweight (48kg);- Abednego Kyalo of KDF beat Silus Onyango of Police on points.

Flyweight (51kg);-Kelvin Maina of KDF defeated Dalmas Kyalo of Dallas Muthurwa on points.

Bantamweight (54kg);- Sylus Wandera of Vihiga lost to Michael Ndonga of Nairobi on points.

Veronica Mbithe of KDF beat Vivian Atieno of Kibra on RSC third round.

Featherweight (57kg);- Kombo Mwinyi of Kongowea beat Stephen Ndung’u of KDF on RSC third round.

Lightweight (60kg);- Ethan Maina of Police defeated Joshua Clive of Nairobi on RSC second round.

Light welterweight (63.5kg);- Joseph Shigali of Police dismissed Boniface Mose of Kibra on points.

Welterweight (67kg);- John Juma of Kibra picked a walkover on Steve Olang of Police.

Light middleweight ()71kg);- Boniface Mogunde of Police won on points against Lucky Nyiro of KDF.

Middleweight (75kg);- George Cosby won on points against Sande Sinzole of Mbaraki.

Metrina Sagina of Vihiga beat Juliet Opondo of Siaya on points.

Light heavyweight (80kg);- Robert Okaka of Nairobi dismissed Anthony Mwangi of Kajiado on points.

Cruiseweight (86kg);-Hezron Maganga of KDF won on points against David Njuguna of Police.

Heavyweight (92kg);-Valentine Mwinami of Nakuru defeated policemen Tobias Okeyo on first round abandonment.

Super heavyweight (Over 92kg);- Elly Ajowi of Kenya Police beat Erick Oteng’o of KDF on RSC third round.

By Standard Sports Jan. 27, 2023
Achieng named best personality for December
By Ochieng Oyugi Jan. 16, 2023
Did bookies hand Mandonga easy victory in bout with Wanyonyi?
By Ochieng Oyugi Jan. 15, 2023
Loudmouth Karim 'Mtu Kazi' Mandonga floors Wanyonyi
By Ochieng Oyugi Jan. 15, 2023
Boxing: Okwiri defeats his Tanzanian opponent Ally Ndaro