SA and Spain sides headline Safari Sevens

By Clement Wekulo: Saturday, September 21st 2019 at 05:30 GMT +3 | Rugby
Kenya Shujaa fans during Safari 7s at RFUEA Grounds. [Jonah Onyango, Standard]

World Sevens Series core sides South Africa and Spain headline the list of teams that have confirmed participation in this year’s Safari Sevens slated for next month at the RFUEA grounds.

The three-day event, which will be played between October 18-20, has also attracted reigning Africa Sevens champions Zimbabwe, Uganda, Zambia and Russia Academy.

With the South Africa national team having sent their second-string squad, the Emerging Boks in recent years, Kenya Rugby Union Vice Chairman Thomas Opiyo believes that will not be the case.

“We have contacted the South Africa head coach and Team Manager and they are bringing the Blitzboks top players. We expect to have a very good tournament because we shall have Kenya, South Africa and Spain as teams that play in the World Sevens Series,” said Opiyo.

Opiyo also said they are waiting for feedback from four more teams, Ghana, Nigeria, Rwanda and Burundi before conducting the tournament draw.

South African clubs Western Province and Blue Bulls, as well as French club Seventise Rugby and Narvskaya Zastava from Russia, will also grace the showpiece.

Get the latest sports news updates. Subscribe to our SMS sports service by texting 'SPORTS' to 22840.

As has been the norm, Kenya will be represented by two teams, Shujaa and Morans while local Sevens Circuit champions KCB have also landed an invite.

Defending champions Samurai Select and Red Wailers are the other teams that have confirmed participation. 

For More of This and Other Sports Stories Subscribe to the Standard Epaper

Related Topics: Safari Sevens
Is this Bidco United’s year
Is this Bidco United’s year
Sports 18 hours ago