Featuring Man City and Liverpool stars: Contenders for PFA player of the year revealed

By Japheth Ogila: Monday, April 16th 2018 at 14:32 GMT +3 | Sports

Front runners for PFA award: Liverpool's Mo Salah (L) and Man City's Kevin De Bruyne. [Photo: Courtesy]

Manchester City trio of Kevin Debruyne, Leroy Sane and David Silva are among the front runners who have been shortlisted for the Professional Footballers Association award.

 The three Manchester City players are slotted alongside Liverpool hitman Mohammed Salah, Tottenham Hotspurs striker Harry Kane and Manchester United keeper  David De Gea.

Nonetheless, Salah and Kevin Debruyne are the top most favourites after making remarkable performances in the English Premier League and beyond.

Mo Salah

Mo Salah.[Photo: Courtesy]

Mohammed Salah has hit the 40-goal mark where 30 of them have been scored in the premier league. The Egyptian has been on his greatest form breaking history by scoring more goals ever scored by an African footballer in the English league. He has so far helped Liverpool to zone in on top four finish as well as being on the path to Champions League glory.

To get the latest soccer news, text 'SPORTS' to 22840.

Kevin De Bruyne

Kevin De Bruyne. [Photo: Courtesy]

Midfielder Kevin De Bruyne has registered 15 assists and seven goals making the cut as the most productive midfielder in the league currently. He has helped City win the title hence his nomination.

Leroy Sane

Leroy Sane. [Photo: Courtesy]

Sane comes second after Debruyne in the assists chart. The German has 15 assists with nine goals, after making a switch from Bundesliga and registering instant impact in the English Premier League. He has been an influence for the Citizens enroute to the title glory.

David Silva

David Silva. [Photo: Courtesy]

The Spaniard has so far lifted three Premier league trophies and poised for a fourth. His remarkablke performance in Manchester City’s midfield has earned him a nomination after helping the champions to roll out winning streak.

David De Gea

David De Gea. [Photo: Courtesy]

Manchester United’s David De Gea has been a giant in small body between the sticks. Former Atletico Madrid man has kept the Red Devils on the competition with spectacular saves. So far, the Red Devils have secured a Champions League spot and are pursuing FA Cup glory.

Harry Kane

Harry Kane. [Photo: Courtesy]

Tottenham’s Harry kane has won the golden boot back-to-back and is second after Mohammed Salah this time on the scoring chart. He has scored 25 goals and has maintained that the Lillywhites are safer especially with regards to playing Champions League next season. He has has suffered injury for a slight part of campaign but is back lately to finish the season.

Who do you back to win the award?