Hellen Obiri and Elijah Manangoi named 2017 Female and Male athletes of the year


Elijah Manangoi and Hellen Obiri are this year's male and female Athletes of the Year.

The two, who had an amazing season, were awarded yesterday night during the Athletics Kenya Awards at Panari Hotel.

After finishing second during 2015 Beijing World Championships, Narok County-born Manangoi became one of the most consistent and dominant athletes this year as he won seven out of 13 races he competed in.

Early this year at the Monaco Diamond League meeting, Manangoi, 24, set the fastest time in 1500m, crossing the line in 3:28.80.

Later in August, he restored Kenya’s pride in 1,500m after he conquered the globe during the IAAF London World Championships.

Manangoi beat strong opponents, including World Marathon Champion Geoffrey Kirui and 3000m Steeplechase Champion Conseslus Kipruto, to the coveted title. Manangoi also bagged the Middle Distance Athlete of the year award.

Impressive Obiri also a double winner at the red-carpet evening event as she won the Female Athlete of the Year and Long Distance Athlete of year awards.

Obiri, 28, lived up to expectations this season as the Olympic 5,000m silver medallist shattered the six-year-old 5,000m national record, shaving off two minutes at the Rome Diamond League in June with a new time of 4:18.37.

The Kisii-born Obiri later won the World 5,000m title London with a dominant kick to silent her Ethiopian rival Almaz Ayana. Obiri then ended the track season with a Diamond League title over the distance in Brussels.  

Other contenders in the female athlete of the year crown were World 1,500m champion Faith Chepngetich and World marathon silver medallist Edna Kiplagat.

Young athlete of the year

Other big winners of the night were Leonard Bett, who was named the Young Athlete of the Year beating George Manangoi, Dominic Ndigiti to the crown. Bett won 2,000m steeplechase title at the IAAF World Under-18 Championships at Kasarani, while the younger Manangoi was victorious in boys' 1,500m race.

Dominic Ndigiti claimed the country’s first medal at the event, a bronze medal in 10,000m walk.

In the female category, World Under-18 2,000m steeplechase championship Caren Chebet won the contest against Jackline Wambui and Immaculate Chepkirui.

Coach of the year

Having changed the criteria for selecting the coach of the year, the panelists opted to award grassroots trainers this time round.

Kericho-based Japheth Kemei, who ventured into coaching in 2000, was named coach of the year ahead of Bernard Ouma and Barnaba Kitilit.

Kemei, 63, and former teacher at Kapsorok Primary School, has handled stars such as 2017 World 800m bronze medallist Kipyegon Bett, 2016 Diamond League trophy winner Ferguson Rotich, 3,000m steeplechase Commonwealth Games champion Purity Cherotich Kirui and Japhet Korir, who won 2015 IAAF world cross country title.

Kenya Secondary Schools Sports Association (KSSSA) Chairman Kimutai Ngetich, who died earlier in the year in a road accident, was awarded post-humorously the Athletics Kenya Golden award for his exemplary contribution to athletics in Keringet region, while Mary Moraa, World Under-18 400m silver medallist, was recognised for her great performance this season. 

Next Story
Mkhitaryan's agent 'in London to finalise Arsenal deal' as midfielder edges closer to Manchester United exit

Mkhitaryan's agent 'in London to finalise Arsenal deal' as midfielder edges closer to Manchester United exit

Manchester United shirts with Alexis Sanchez on back already being printed at Adidas store

Manchester United shirts with Alexis Sanchez on back already being printed at Adidas store

Wenger confirms ‘close’ Sanchez-Man United deal as Adidas begin printing number 7 shirt

Alexis Sanchez's transfer from Arsenal to Manchester United is all but confirmed.

Neymar booed despite racking four goals in PSG win

PSG fans booed Neymar despite scoring four goals taking his tally to 24 and setting up two goals

Arsenal in 'distress' as Dortmund now refuses to release Aubameyang

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang must wait to make hismove to Arsenal after he was included in Borussia Dortmund’s squad.

Ronaldinho pens emotional message on his retirement as Messi, Beckham and co pay tribute to him

Ronaldinho Gaucho announced his retirement from football on Tuesday when his brother Roberto Assis went public about it

More Stories
Muchai makes history, bags prestigious SOYA award

Samuel Muchai stood in the podium at the Kenyatta International Convention Centre to receive his accolade for SOYA.

AK: Top stars snub Club Games set for Australia

Top stars snub Club Games set for Australia

Kenya names a strong six-member team for Commonwealth Games

Kenya is out to revenge and recapture their lost glory at the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games in Australia.

NOCK: Governance key to success, says Tergat

The National Olympic of Kenya president Paul Tergat has underscored the importance of good governance in improving sport

Kamworor and Ndiwa arrest rivals

World cross country champion Geoffrey Kamworor and Stacy Ndiwa won the National Police Service Cross Country tournament.

Kangogo and Aprot triumph: Stars eye slots to Commonwealth Games

Ndiwa re-affirms his comeback, focus now shifts to next month’s national trials.

Kamworor and Ndiwa arrest rivals: Winner says next target is to defend his IAAF World Half Marathon title in Valencia

Two-time World Cross Country champion shrugs off opposition to secure top spot in police championships.

Obiri shoots down rivals at Air Base: KDF parades best talent at cross country meet

Youngster Kering stuns rich field to win men’s race.

Tergat signs deal with Kenya Power

Tergat signs deal with Kenya Power

Prisons warders set for bruising battle

Prisons warders set for bruising battle