Boxing World Championships: Cuba are the World Boxing Champions

By Ben Ahenda: Tuesday, September 5th 2017 at 11:39 GMT +3 | Boxing

This was after they presented seven boxers in the finals with five of them going ahead to win gold medals to assert their superiority and authority as the curtain came down on the World Boxing Championships at theAlsterdorfer Sporthalle in Hamburg, Germany over the weekend.

Azerbaijan, France, Kazakhstan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan took home one gold medal each on the final day of the tournament on Saturday night.

The five Cuban boxers who won the gold medals were light flyweight Joahnys Argilagos, flyweight Yosbany Veitia, light welterweight Andy Cruz, light heavyweight (81kg) Julio Cesar La Cruz and heavyweight Erislandy Savon.

Argilagos defeated Uzbekistan’s Olympic Champion Hasanboy Dusmatov, Veitia stopped Uzbek Jasurbek Latipov in unanimous point’s decision, Cruz dismissed Olympic silver medalist Sofiane Oumiha of France, Cesar La Cruz walloped Joe Ward ofIreland who is a three-time EUBC Champion in a repeat of the 2015 World Championship Final in Doha and Savon defeated World and Olympic Champion Evgeny Tishchenko of Russia.

The two Cuban boxers who lost in the finals and thereby winning silver medals were lightweight Lazaro and welterweight Alvarez Roniel Iglesias.

Lazaro lost to the Rio Olympic silver medalist Sofiane Oumiha of France while Iglesias was beaten by Shakhram Giyasov of Uzbekistan.

Get the latest World Cup news updates. Subscribe to our SMS sports service by texting 'SPORTS' to 22840.

Ukraine’s Oleksandr Khyznhiak emerged the Boxer of the Tournament.

The one week tournament witnessed 243 athletes from 75 countries competing for the prestigious titles in the second most prestigious tournament after the Olympics.

Summarized Results;-

Light Flyweight (49kg);-Cuban Joahnys Argilagos beat Hasanboy Dusmatov of Uzbekistan.

Flyweight (52kg);-Cuban Yosbany Veitia dismissed Uzbek Jasurbek Latipov. Bantamweight (56kg);-Kazakhstan Kairat Yeraliyev defeated Duke Ragan of UnitedStates of America.

Lightweight (60kg);-Frenchman Sofiane Oumiha defeated Lazaro Alvarez of Cuba.

Light Welterweight (64kg);- Cuban Andy Cruz dismissed Uzbekistan’s Ikboljon Kholdarov.

Welterweight (69kg);-Uzbekistan Shakhram Giyasov dismissed Cuba’s potent Roniel Iglesias.

Middleweight (75kg);- Ukraine’s Oleksandr Khyznhiak walloped Kazakhstan newcomer Abilkhan Amankul on points.

Light Heavyweight (81kg);- Julio Cesar La Cruz of Cuba won against Joe Ward of Ireland.

Heavyweight (91kg);- Cuban Erislandy Savon defeated Russia’s World and Olympic Champion Evgeny Tishchenko.

Super Heavyweight (+91kg);-Kazakhstan’s Kamshybek Kunkabayev lost to Azerbaijan’s Mahammadrasul Majidov.



1. Cuba – 5 gold, 2 silver
2. Uzbekistan – 1 gold, 3 silver, 2 bronze
3. Kazakhstan – 1 gold, 2 silver, 3 bronze
4. Azerbaijan – 1 gold, 1 bronze
5-6. Ukraine and France – 1 gold
7. USA – 1 silver, 2 bronze
8. Russia – 1 silver, 1 bronze
9. Ireland – 1 silver
10-20. Armenia, UK, Equador, Colombia, Georgia, Mongolia, Germany, India, South Korea, Australia, Cameroon – 1 bronze