× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Kibaki Cabinets Arts & Culture Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Blow to Ruto after tribunal upholds Jubilee changes

Political Parties Dispute Tribunal yesterday dealt Deputy President William Ruto a blow after it upheld the controversial changes to a crucial Jubilee Party committee.

Jubilee Party deputy secretary general Caleb Kositany had filed a case at the tribunal challenging the appointment of Lucy Nyaguthii Macharia, Marete Marangu, former Kitutu Masaba MP Walter Nyambati, Jane Nampaso and James Waweru as members of the National Management Committee.

In the case filed by Kositany and former Senate Majority Leader Kipchumba Murkomen and former Senate Chief Whip Susan Kihika, the Ruto allies claimed that the National Executive Committee had not sat to approve the names.

But the tribunal found that it did not have jurisdiction, and the complaint was premature.

The tribunal said the three had not utilised internal dispute resolution mechanisms provided in Jubilee Party constitution.

It noted the 14 days grace period given to parties to resolve their disputes had not lapsed.

Share this story
Multilateralism through public-private partnerships are key to flattening Covid-19 curve
So far the pandemic has not been the finest hour for international cooperation.
Restoring Nairobi’s iconic libraries
Book Bunk is turning public libraries into what they call ‘Palaces for The People' while introducing technology in every aspect.