× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Kibaki Cabinets Arts & Culture Gender Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Dadaab refugee camp to be closed by November, says Nkaissery

By Daniel Psirmoi | June 2nd 2016

The process to close the Dadaab and Kakuma refugee camps will be completed November.

Interior Cabinet Secretary Joseph Nkaissery said repatriation of the refugees will be done in a humane way. An 11-member team has compiled a report on how the repatriation will be done.

The team chaired by Joseph Irungu was formed on May 11 and tasked with developing modalities for the repatriation, and determine the cost and deadline.

"The decision we made to close the camp is explicit and final. We shall hand over the report on how we intend to handle the process to the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)," said Mr Nkaissery.

international community

He added: "We shall close the two refugee camps in the most humane way. The refugees must be repatriated to their countries and we hope to close the camp, latest November."

The Government has set aside a billion shillings for the process. The CS said the international community has to honour its obligation of meeting the cost of resettling the refugees in their home countries and ensuring they are comfortable.

"It will be up to UNHCR and other bodies to move with speed to receive and resettle the refugees on the Somali side and make them feel at home. They have enough time until November to put everything in place," he said.

Mr Irungu said the report explored all terms of reference given to the team, and that they were hopeful their recommendations will be implemented by the Government.

Members of the task force include Immigration boss Gordon Kihalangwa, Martin Kimani, Richard Ndubai, Mohamud Saleh and Reuben Kimotho.

Others are George Walwa, Catherine Bunyassi, Catherine Mogaka, Boniface Maingi, Naman Owuor and Haron Komen.

Deputy President William Ruto recently asked the developed countries to absorb some of the refugees.

Share this story
Now Tobiko orders closure of Eurobond saga probe file
Director of Public Prosecutions Keriako Tobiko has agreed to close the Sh250 billion Eurobond saga file.
Diabetes: Insulin now an essential drug
Listing NCDs is a relief to Kenyans like 65-year-old Kahuho Mathai from Nyeri County, who was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes and high blood pressure.