Azimio wants Adan Keynan off Kenya Kwanza bipartisan team

Rarieda Member of Parliament Otiende Amollo. [David Njaaga, Standard]

The Azimio La Umoja-One Kenya coalition now claims the inclusion of Eldas Member of Parliament Adan Keynan in the Kenya Kwanza bipartisan team is ill-motivated.

Azimio's seven-member team, in a press briefing on Thursday, April 13, requested Kenya Kwanza to withdraw Keynan from its list of leaders set to negotiate with them [Azimio] in the bipartisan talks.

The team led by Rarieda MP Otiende Amollo termed Keynan's involvement as unlawful and allegedly intended to delay the exercise.

"The issue of party discipline is one of the four cardinal issues on the table and his (Keynan) inclusion is in bad faith, unlawful, and intended to delay the process. We, therefore, request our counterparts to reconsider and replace Keynan," said Otiende.

At the same time, Azimio has appointed Prof Makau Mutua and Jeremiah Kioni as assisting counsels in the negotiations, and advocate Paul Mwangi as the joint secretary.

On Wednesday, the United Democratic Alliance said that the Party's decision to involve Keynan in the talks was intentional, and aimed at promoting the inclusion of all political parties.

The Eldas Member of Parliament is a member of the Jubilee Party which is part of the Azimio La Umoja Coalition and is among Jubilee members who defected from Azimio and pledged to work with Kenya Kwanza after the August polls.

The Raila Odinga-led coalition is today, Thursday, April 13 expected to start fresh public engagements with the first town hall meeting.

The meeting will include veterans, human rights activists, intellectuals, faith-based organisations, trade unions, farmers' associations, small businesses among others.

The countrywide public barazas were halted on April 1 to pave the way for bi-partisan talks following the commencement of mass protest on March 20.

The Kenya Kwanza coalition will be represented by: Kakamega Senators Boni Khalwale, Hillary Sigei - Bomet, MP Tharaka George Murugara, Nominated Senator Esther Okenyuri, MP Kibwezi West Mwangi Mutuse, Women Rep. Taita Taveta Lydia Haika, and Eldas MP Adan Keynan.

On the other hand, Azimio is represented by: Nairobi Senator Edwin Sifuna, Narok Senator Ledama Ole Kina, Kitui Senator Enoch Wambua. MPs Otiende Amollo (Rarieda), Millie Odhiambo (Suba North), David P'Kosing (Pokot South), and Amina Mnyanzi (Malindi).