Parliament approves seven nominees to Commission on Revenue Allocation

Current CRA Commissioners will exit on December 31. [Elvis Ogina, Standard]

The National Assembly has approved seven nominees to serve as members of the Commission on Revenue Allocation (CRA) for six years after they were vetted by the Departmental Committee on Finance and National Planning.

The Committee Chairperson Kimani Kuria (Molo MP) told the special House sitting on December 8 that Fatuma Gedi, Benedict Mutiso, Dr Jalangó Midiwo, Hadija Juma, Dr Isabel Waiyaki, Jonas Kuko and Koitamet ole Kina were found suitable to serve in the commission.

Mr Kuria told the House that the nominees had been cleared by the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission, Kenya Revenue Authority, Higher Education Loans Board, Directorate of Criminal Investigations and Office of the Registrar of Political Parties paving way for their appointment.

“The Constitution requires political parties represented in the National Assembly and the Senate to nominate two and five people respectively for appointment as members of the Commission on Revenue Allocation from among people who are not members of parliament,” said Kuria.

The Committee Vice Chairperson Benjamin Langat (Ainamoi MP) seconded the Motion saying that they were guided by the Constitution, public appointments and the Commission of Revenue Allocation Act to establish the suitability of the seven nominees to serve in CRA.

The committee chair told the House that former Wajir Woman Rep Gedi, holds a Bachelor's degree in Commerce and has more than 10 years of experience in financial matters having served in various sectors before she was elected to Parliament in 2017.

He noted that Mr Mutiso is a Tax Consultant, and previously worked with the Kenya Revenue Authority and was a holder of a Bachelor's Degree in Finance with 17 years of experience in finance and economic matters which makes him suitable for the position.

Kuria told the House that Midiwo is a medical doctor who holds a Masters's Degree in Public Health and worked at management level in the National Hospital Insurance Fund, served as Chief Officer in Siaya county and worked in various hospitals as a doctor which has exposed him to financial management for more than 30 years.

“Dr Waiyaki is a director with NGCDF Board and holds a doctorate degree in economics and has worked extensively in various government agencies and done consultancy work and acquired 11 years in policies related to economics and financial matters,” he said.

The committee chair noted that Kuko has a Bachelor's degree in Agriculture and served as Director of Rural Electrification Authority and Principal of Chebororwa Agriculture Colleges where he demonstrated prudent financial with 15 years of experience in financial matters.

The House was further told that Kina has a Master's Degree in Public Policy and Administration, served in the Constitutional Review Commission, was Deputy Coordinator Crisis Response Centre in the office of the Prime Minister and worked with the Kenya Tourism Board accumulating the necessary experience to serve in CRA.

The Finance committee chairperson noted that Ms Juma has 12 years of experience in financial and economic matters having started off her career in the Ministry of Labour and Social Protection and has a Bachelor's Degree in Sociology and Information Technology.

The Minority Leader Opiyo Wandayi supported the seven nominees saying that they were found suitable to serve as CRA commissioners and Gedi, Jalango and Kina who were proposed by the Azimio la Umoja One Kenya have a good track record.

“I believe that the seven Kenyans who have gotten the chance to serve in the Commission on Revenue Allocation will be able to take it to the next level during their six years’ tenure, I appeal that we take the shortest time possible to approve this names,” said Wandayi

Current CRA Commissioners led by Chairperson Dr Jane Kiringai, Vice Chairperson Humphrey Wattanga, Dr Irine Asienga, Prof Edward Oyugi, Fouzia Abdikadir, Peter Gachuba, Prof Peter Kimuyu, Kishanto ole Suuji and Dr Julius Muia will exit on December 31.