Curfew in 13 counties changed, to start from 7pm to 4am

Health Cabinet Secretary Mutahi Kagwe. [File, Standard]

The National Government has revised the dusk-to-dawn curfew in 13 counties in Nyanza, Western and Rift Valley.

The curfew hours have been changed to start from 7pm to 4am beginning Friday, June 18. Before the latest development, the curfew lasted from 10pm to 4am

The Ministry of Health says the move has been arrived at to reduce the Covid-19 positivity rate in the regional areas.

The 13 counties, which will operate under the new curfew hours, are: Busia, Vihiga, Kisii, Nyamira, Kakamega, Bungoma, Kericho, Bomet, Trans Nzoia, Kisumu, Siaya, Homa-Bay and Migori.

The Ministry of Health said the positivity rate in the 13 regions averages 21 per cent, while that of the remaining parts of the country is at 9 per cent.

The Government also barred worship to contain the spike.

“All forms of physical/congressional worship (churches, mosques, temples and shrines) in the hotspot counties are suspended for a period of 30 days,” said Health CS Mutahi Kagwe in an announcement Thursday.