× Digital News Videos Opinion Special Reports Lifestyle Weird News Health & Science Education Columns The Hague Trial Kenya @ 50 Comand Your Morning E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Mwangi Kiunjuri axed as President Uhuru reshuffles cabinet

By Betty Njeru | January 14th 2020 at 12:04:10 GMT +0300

Mwangi Kiunjuri was axed from the Cabinet.

Kiunjuri, who headed the Agriculture docket, has been replaced by Peter Munya from Trade.

Kiunjuri has been in the spotlight recently over maize controversies in his ministry.

In July 2019, Members of Parliament pile pressure on him to resign after it emerged that Sh1.8 billion had allegedly been withdrawn from the Strategic Food Reserve Trust Fund as an advance payment for maize importation.

In the cabinet reshuffle, President Uhuru Kenyatta firmed Ukur Yattani helsmanship at the National Treasury where he was the acting CS.  

Suspended CS Henry Rotich’s name has been dropped from the Treasury docket.

Rotich who has been linked to the Arror and Kimwarer dams scandal along with his former PS Kamau Thugge, is facing multiple criminal charges, including abuse of office, conspiracy to commit economic crimes, single-sourcing for projects, and approving payments contrary to the law. 

CS Rachael Omamo moves from Defence to Foreign Affairs. 

Her move comes in the midst an Al-Shabaab resurgence. The terrorist group attacked a Kenya-US airbase in Manda, Lamu, killing three Americans.

The defence docket will now be headed by Monica Juma, who previously led the Foreign Affairs one.

Sicily Kariuki goes to the Water Ministry from Health while Simon Chelugui shifts to Labour from Water. 

Former Nyeri Senator Mutahi Kagwe is the Health Ministry boss while economist Betty Maina will head the Trade Ministry.

Below is the full list of Cabinet Secretaries.




Cabinet Secretaries

Dr. Fred O. Matiang’i,

Interior and Coordination of National Government

Najib Balala

Tourism & Wildlife

Mr. James W. Macharia

Transport, Infrastructure, Housing, Urban Development & Public Works

Amb. Raychelle A. Omamo

Foreign Affairs

Amb. Amina C. Mohamed

Sports, Culture & Heritage

Adan A. Mohamed

East African Community & Regional Development

Sicily K. Kariuki

Water & Sanitation and Irrigation

Eugene Wamalwa


Charles Keter


Joe Mucheru

Information, Communication & Technology (ICT)

Peter Munya

Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries & Cooperatives

Margaret Kobia

Public Service, Youth & Gender

John K. Munyes

Mining and Petroleum

Amb. (Dr.) Monica K. Juma


Simon K. Chelugui

Labour & Social Services

Keriako Tobiko

Environment & Forestry

Farida C. Karoney

Lands & Physical Planning

 (Amb.) Ukur K. Yatani

National Treasury and Planning

Prof. George A.O. Magoha


Mutahi Kagwe


Betty Maina –Nominee

Trade and Industrialisation

Mwangi Kiunjuri Cabinet Reshuffle
Share this story

Read More