× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Kibaki Cabinets Arts & Culture Gender Podcasts E-Paper Tributes Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Dedicated Kenyans receive awards

By - | December 14th 2012

By Ben Agina

President Kibaki awarded 246 individuals for distinguished service to the nation as part of the 49th Jamhuri Day celebrations.

The award ranges from the Elder of the order of the Golden Heart (EGH) Chief of the Order of the Burning Spear (CBS), Elder of the Order of the Burning Spear (EBS) to the lowest Head of State Commendation (HSC).

The Chief of Defence Forces General Julius Waweru Karangi, Lt. Gen Joseph Kasaon (Army Commander), Maj Gen Ngewa Mukala (Navy) and Major Gen Joffidha Otieno (Air force) were awarded the Distinguished Conduct Order (DCO) for the role the Kenya Defence Forces played in securing peace in Somalia. Others in this category are Commissioner of Police Mathew Iteere and former Administration Police Commandant Kinuthia Mbugua.

Several soldiers who took part in “Operation Linda Nchi” but died in the course of duty were awarded the Silver Star of Kenya (SS) post.

Cabinet ministers Prof Margaret Kamar, Musa Sirma, Ababu Namwamba, Eugene Wamalwa, Danson Mwazo, Katoo ole Metito and Attorney General Prof Githu Muigai and acting Head of Public Service Francis Kimemia received Elder of the Order of the Golden Heart (EGH).

Former Constitution of Kenya Review commission chairman Prof Yash Pal Ghai received Elder of Burning Spear (EBS).

Others who received the EBS were Cotu Secretary General Francis Atwoli, newly appointed Government spokesman Muthui Kariuki, Vision 2030 CEO Mugo Kibati, Salaries Remuneration Commission chairperson Sarah Serem, NSSF Managing Trustee Tom Odongo and the National Police Service Chairman Johnson Kavuludi.

World and Olympic 800 metres Champion David Lekuta Rudisha, Kenya Football Federation chairman Sam Nyamweya, Knut chairman Wilson Sossion and secretary general David Okuta Osiany received the Moran of the Order of the Burning Spear (MBS).

Kenya Year Book Chairman Denis Chebitwey received Order of the Grand Warrior of Kenya (OGW) alongside Department of Defence spokesman Bogita Ongeri, Haji Noordin Mohammed and David Karanja.Musician Iddi Achieng received Head of State Commendation (HSC).

Share this story
Chiefs face sack as illegal herders ordered out
DC warns corrupt officers colluding to allow pastoralists into people’s farms will be sent home
Opening Ceremony: Kenya takes her pride of place as 2020 Tokyo Paralympic Games begin
Team Kenya Paralympics strolled majestically into the Tokyo Olympic Stadium led by captain Rodgers Kiprop and Powerlifter Hellen Wawira for the Openin