× Digital News Videos Health & Science Lifestyle Opinion Education Columnists Moi Cabinets Arts & Culture Ureport Fact Check The Standard Insider Kenya @ 50 Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Retired judge and others get plum jobs

By Paul Ogemba | May 16th 2020 at 00:00:00 GMT +0300

Retired Supreme Court Judge Jackton Ojwang’ has been appointed to chair the Energy and Petroleum Regulatory Authority (EPRA).

Through a Gazette notice issued on Wednesday, President Uhuru Kenyatta said Prof Ojwang’, who left the Judiciary in February upon attaining the mandatory retirement age of 70 years, will serve at EPRA for four years.

Ojwang’ had an illustrious 17-year career in the Judiciary, having first been appointed a High Court judge in 2003 before being elevated to the Supreme Court in 2012 as the seven pioneer judges of the newly created apex court.

The retired judge horded controversy during his tenure at the Supreme Court and faced the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) on a number of occasions over claims of misconduct.

He was suspended last year by the President upon recommendations by the JSC and a tribunal formed to investigate his conduct over allegations of misconduct, incompetence and breach of the judicial code of conduct.

Read More

Justice Ojwang returned to work in August last year after the tribunal cleared him on grounds that the claims were baseless and unjustified.

He will now be in charge of the State agency responsible for regulating the importation, refining, production, distribution and pricing of petroleum and coal products.

The law scholar was among several individuals appointed by the president through the Gazette notice to various State departments.

Former Controller of Budget Agnes Odhiambo was appointed as chairperson of the National Transport and Safety Authority Board for three years.

Also appointed was former JKUAT Vice Chancellor Mabel Imbuga to chair the NACADA board.

Energy and Petroleum Regulatory Authority EPRA Judge Jackton Ojwang’
Share this story

Read More