× Digital News Videos Health & Science Lifestyle Opinion Education Columnists Moi Cabinets Arts & Culture Ureport Fact Check The Standard Insider Kenya @ 50 Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman Travelog TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Former President Kibaki beaten to the Sh450 million Mo Ibrahim Prize by a Namibian President Pohamba

By Paul Wafula | March 2nd 2015 at 12:24:20 GMT +0300

NAIROBI, KENYA: Kibaki was beaten to the prize by his Namibian counterpart, President Hifikepunye Pohamba. The win now ends a two-year drought in which the prize went without a winner. 

The Ibrahim Prize, established in 2007, celebrates excellence in African leadership.

The winner is given Sh450million ($5 million) in prize money for over ten years and an additional Sh18million ($200 000) per year for life thereafter. 

An independent committee of eminent personalities including two Nobel Laureates does the judging. 

“It celebrates African leaders who have developed their countries, lifted people out of poverty and paved the way for sustainable and equitable prosperity,” the statement from the Ibrahim Prize organisers says. 

Read More

Previous Ibrahim Laureates include President Joaquim Chissano of Mozambique (2007), President Festus Mogae of Botswana (2008), President Pedro Pires of Cape Verde (2011) and President Nelson Mandela of South Africa (Honorary). 

The Laureates provide role models for the continent. The Prize Committee may choose not to award the Prize, as was the case in 2009, 2012 and 2013. 

Kibaki’s administration is credited for the introduction of free primary school education that brought millions of children back to school.

Mo Ibrahim Mwai Kibaki
Share this story

More stories