The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

ODM party NEC to decide fate of rebel lawmakers

 Orange House, Nairobi. [Boniface Okendo, Standard]

The ODM party National Executive Council will decide the fate of eight rebel Members of Parliament who have declared support for Kenya Kwanza government.

A week ago ODM disciplinary committee chaired by Prof Ben Siahanya grilled the rebel MPs after they were asked to show cause why they are going against the wishes of the party whose leadership has opposed President William Ruto's administration.

The rebels are Nairobi Woman Rep Esther Passaris, Kisumu Senator Tom Ojienda, MPs Elisha Odhiambo (Gem), Mark Nyamita (Uriri), Caroli Omondi (Suba South), Gideon Ochanda (Bondo), Paul Abuor (Rongo) and Felix Oduor (Lang'ata).

Prof Sihanya told The Standard that the committee had finished its work and it was now upon the NEC to decide the fate of the eight MPs.

"We finished our work and it is now up to the NEC to determine the fate of the MPs, they are the ones to communicate their decision," he said.

The party raised concern after a section of the MPs allied to ODM and Jubilee Party met President William Ruto in State House to reportedly discuss development agenda.

"We will work with leaders across the country without reservation or discrimination regardless of political affiliation to deliver services to the people. This is what the Constitution demands and what all Kenyans deserve," President Ruto tweeted.

However, the lawmakers said the resolve to work with the government does not mean that they are betraying their party

Passaris, Omondi, and Odhiambo faced the disciplinary committee for openly supporting the Finance Bill 2023 when it was tabled before Parliament.

The eight face charges of violating the Constitution by contravening the Political Parties Act, which stipulates that a member who promotes the ideology of another is deemed to have resigned from the said party.

Migori Senator Edwin Oketch accused the leaders of promoting the ideology of another party, hence betraying public trust and gross misconduct. Passaris is accused of defying the Azimo la Umoja-One Kenya position by voting in favour of the contentious Finance Bill 2023.

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week