The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

50 CAS appointees sworn in at State House

 President William Ruto presides over the swearing-in of 50 CAS appointees at State House, Nairobi. [Screen grab]

President William Ruto on Thursday morning, March 23 presided over the swearing-in of 50 Chief Administrative Secretaries at State House, Nairobi.

This follows a communique on Wednesday, March 22, that the CASs would take the oath of office without being vetted by the National Assembly.

Speaking to the appointees after the ceremony, the Head of State said he expected them to serve with integrity in their individual capacities and fulfill the oaths and promises they took to Kenyans.

“We have people who have served as former governors, as MCAs, and some as bloggers…but today you have joined my team to work for the people of Kenya. Your oath is solemn; I expect you to take it with the seriousness it deserves,” said Ruto.

 Dennis Itumbi takes oath as incoming ICT Chief Administrative Secretary. [Itumbi, Twitter]

Their appointments were gazetted by Head of Public Service Felix Koskei on Thursday morning. 

“In that regard, the National Assembly is unable to vet the nominees in the absence of an express constitutional or statutory requirement to do so,” read the communique in part.

The swearing-in ceremony began minutes past 8 am.

Ruto’s CASs are a significant increase from former President Uhuru Kenyatta’s administration, which had 26 in number.

 President William Ruto (center), and his deputy Rigathi Gachagua (immediate left) with newly sworn-in CASs at State House, Nairobi. [PCS]

Among those who took the oath of office after their gazettement oath are Evans Kidero (Trade Ministry), Bishop Margaret Wanjiru, Catherine Waruguru (Foreign Affairs Ministry), Isaac Mwaura (Office of the Prime Cabinet Secretary), Eng Nicholas Gumbo (Transport Ministry), and Wilson Sossion (Tourism Ministry).

“I have deliberately appointed some of you because of your experiences and I expect that you understand service to the people and bring that experience to serve in your new responsibility,” Ruto said.

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week