The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

This is where you can personally give views on CBC


CBC replaced the 8-4-4 system that had been in existence for years.

Kenyans from all the 47 counties have the opportunity to give their respective opinions on what needs to be done to improve the competency-based curriculum (CBC).

The Presidential Working Party on Education Reform on Friday, October 28 published a notice on Page 13 of The Standard Newspaper listing the venues across all the 47 counties where Kenyans can submit their views.

The views collection will start on Tuesday, November 1 and end on Friday, November 11, 2022. The exercise will be conducted between 8am and 4pm on the respective days.

Tuesday, November 1, 2022

Kwale County - Kwale High School

Taita Taveta County - CDF Hall Mwatate

Marsabit County - Moi Girls' High School, Marsabit

Nyandarua County - Nyandarua High School

Turkana County - Lodwar Boys' High School

Kericho County - Kericho Teachers' Training College

Busia County - Lwanya Special Needs School

Migori County - Migori Teachers' Training College

Mandera County - Mandera Secondary School

Samburu County - St. Irene Girls' High School

Thursday, November 3, 2022

Mombasa County - Coast Girls' High School

Makueni County - Makueni Boys' High School

Nyeri County - Nyeri High School

Elgeyo Marakwet County - Tambach Teachers' Training College

Bungoma County - St. Teresa's Sio High School

Nyamira County - Sironga Girls' High School

Homa Bay County - Homa Bay Boys' High School

Friday, November 4, 2022

Isiolo County - Isiolo Girls' High School

Wajir County - Wajir High School

Laikipia County - CDF Nanyuki

Monday, November 7, 2022

Kilifi County - St. Thomas Girls' Secondary School

Kitui County - Kitui Multipurpose Hall

Kirinyaga County - Kerugoya Girls' High School

Bomet County - Tenwek Boys' High School

Trans Nzoia County - St. Monica Girls' High School

Kakamega County - Kakamega High School

Kisii County - Kisii University

Tuesday, November 8, 2022

Meru County - Meru Teachers' Training College

Garissa County - NEP Girls' Secondary School

Baringo County - KSG Baringo

Wednesday, November 9, 2022

Lamu County - Mokowe Arid Zone Primary School

Embu County - the University of Embu

Murang'a County - Murang'a Teachers' Training College

West Pokot County - Nasokol Girls' Secondary School

Narok County - Ole Tipis Girls' High School

Nandi County - Kapsabet Girls' High School

Siaya County - Nyamira Girls' High School, Bondo

Friday, November 11, 2022

Tana River County - Hola Primary School

Machakos County - Machakos Girls' High School

Tharaka Nithi County - Chuka University

Kiambu County - Chania Boys' High School

Uasin Gishu County - Uasin Gishu Mixed High School

Kajiado County - Umma University

Vihiga - Moi Vihiga Girls' High School

Kisumu County - Kisumu Girls' High School

Nairobi County - the Nairobi University

Nakuru County - Nakuru Girls' High School

On September 30, 2022, President William Ruto appointed 42 members and seven secretaries to the Education reforms taskforce to review CBC progress.

This was in fulfilment of his pledge to have the suitability of the competency-based-curriculum evaluated.

Under the CBC programme, learners spend two years in pre-primary, six years in primary (Grades 1-6), three years in junior secondary (Grades 7,8,9), three years in senior secondary (Grades 10,11,12) and three years in university.

Unlike the 8-4-4 system that was said to be theory-heavy, CBC focuses on equipping a learner with technical, artistic and scientific skills that enables him or her to be hands-on.

Scientist Prof. Raphael Munavu was selected as the chairperson of the 42-member taskforce set up by President Ruto.

Below is the full membership composition:

Prof. Raphael Munavu - Chairperson

Prof. David Some

Dr. Halima Saado Abdilahi

Dr. Ciriaka Gitonga

Purity Mbaabu

Dr. Edward Katue Nzinga

Virginia Wahome

Robert Juma Wamalwa

Charles Kyalo Mutinda

Prof. Gitahi Kiama

Anthony Cheruiyot Sitienei

Bishop Geffrey Waweru Gichoki

Rev. Seline Chepngeno Ronoh

Prof. Laila Abubakar

Daniel Otieno Randa

John Kamiti Munyua

Prof. Paul Wainaina

Kasanga Mutheu

Margaret W Chege

Prof. James Kanya

Salome Eyangan

Prof. Wiston Akala

Peter Mokaya Tabichi

Jane Kimiti

Kizito Wangalwa

Augusta Mwihaki Muthigani

Prof. Peter Barasa

Dr. Ahmed Yussuf

Jone Mose

Prof. Hassan Mwakimako

Lynette Mwende Ndile

Dr. Wilson Kogo

Prof. Stephen Mbugua Ngari

Paul Lilan

Dr. Richard Githinji

Prof. Collins Odote

Dr. Jane Imbunya

Jacinta Ngure

Dr. Jerono P. Rotich

Subira Neema

Bernard Kariuki Njoroge

Prof. Peter Njenga Keiyoro

The taskforce has seven secretaries, including the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Kenya National Examinations Council (KNEC) Dr. David Njegere.

The other six secretaries are Dr. Elyas Addi, Patita Tingoi, Prof. Jackson Too, Dr. Reuben Nthamburi Mugwuku, Richard Miano and Eunice Gachoka.

The team was given a six-month mandate by President Ruto in a Gazette Notice dated September 30, 2022.

The taskforce is expected to, among others, undertake summative evaluation of the competency-based-curriculum and assess and recommend an appropriate structure to implement the competency-based-curriculum.

The Prof. Munavu-led taskforce is also expected to assess the examination framework and the quality assurance and standards framework.

The 49 members of the group were also tasked to review and recommend a governance and financing framework for TVET training and development, university education, research and training.

The team was directed to brief President Ruto on the progress of their reviews after every two months.

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week