The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

MVP 2020 awards: Khaligraph Jones crowned best hip-hop artiste in Africa

 Khaligraph Jones poses with his award.

Kenyan rapper Khaligraph Jones was the only winner from East Africa in the just-concluded Soundcity MVP awards in Lagos, Nigeria.

Khaligraph beat the likes of Falz from Nigeria, South Africa’s Kwesta and Ghana’s Sarkodie to bag the prestigious ‘Best in Hiphop’ category award at the event that was held on January 11, 2020.

Accepting the award, the Micasa Sucasa hit maker termed the win as the biggest achievement in his career so far.

“Thank you so Much fam, biggest achievement of my career, never give up on your dream no matter what some may people will say about it and about you. Stay hungry and God will always come through…. #respecttheogs,” he posted on Instagram.

Nigerian rapper hits back

His award was however not appreciated by everyone. Nigerian rapper Blaq Bonez on Sunday morning took to Twitter to discredit the win.

“Somebody tell Khaligraph that I’m still the best rapper in Africa Sound City got it wrong. Diss track in the morning, you know what I mean!”

His sentiments did not settle well with Kenyans on Twitter who later forced the Nigerian rapper to apologize.

“Lmaoo I’m kidding about a diss track oo. Wtf you people are taking me too seriously. Congrats @Khalipgraph Jones. And I’m sorry,” he tweeted.

READ ALSO: 2018 AFRIMMA Awards: Khaligraph, Papa Dennis win big

Not known to back down from such, Khaligraph issued a statement saying he will be releasing a diss track aimed at all Nigerian rappers.


A post shared by Khaligraph jones (@khaligraph_jones) on Jan 11, 2020 at 8:20pm PST

“Nigga has apologized. What a shame. I was so excited, now am gonna diss each and every one of you all Nigerian rappers and become the top Nigerian rapper then apply for Citizenship. There cause every doing afro pop now,” Khaligraph said.

Otile Brown was nominated in Best Pop category which was won by JoeBoy from Nigeria while DJ Creme De La Creme lost out to DJ Spinall (Nigeria) in the African DJ of the Year category.

Likewise, Ethic lost to Dope Nation from Ghana in the Best Duo category.

Nigeria's Burna Boy was the biggest winner with three awards in the African Artist of the Year, Best Male MVP and Song of the Year categories.

Other big winners of the night included Prince Kaybee, Rema, Naira Marley, Joeboy, Fireboy, Davido.

Tanzanian’s Diamond Platnumz went home empty-handed even though he had four MVP nominations.

The awards ceremony was held at the Eko Convention Center in Lagos, Nigeria and was hosted by South Africa’s Bonang Matheba.

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week

The Standard
Get unlimited access to The Standard website!