The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Kenyan Celebs bash Nyash after MTV nomination

Nyanshinki is nominated for this year’s MTV Europe Music Awards to held next month Following his nominations, fans flooded social media with campaigns urging Kenyans to vote for him The ‘Vote for Nyash’ campaigns were marred with criticisms as some people said the award is not all about “our own” Some celebrated stars also joined the critics in wondering why Nyash should be supported yet he does not support other showbiz personalities

The entertainment world can be ruthless! Nyash must have discovered this week.

After news came out that the comeback king had been nominated for the MTV Europe Music awards, a number of fans went online with praise, urging Kenyans to vote for him as “he is one of our own”.

However, the move met resistance from some haters, some of them celebrated stars who dissed Nyashinski for not being friendly.

The showbiz acts wondered why Nyashinski, who is up against Nigeria’s Wizkid and Davido as well as South Africa’s Babes Wodumo and Nasty C, should be supported yet he does not support other artistes.

Si kwa ubaya. Hata kufollow wasanii wenzako (No bad feeling, but the guy does not even follow his fellow artistes)…,” someone wrote getting the likes of Fundi Frank and other industry players on the post.

The annual music awards affair that gifts the best artistes mostly from Europe takes place on November 12 at the SSE Arena, Wembley in London.

Taylor Swift is leading the pack with six nominations including one for Best Video for her latest hit, Look What You Made Me Do.  Shawn Mendes, Ed Sheeran and Kendrick Lamar are close behind with five nominations going to Mendes and four going to both Lamar and Sheeran. New, game-changing artistes like, KYLE and Dua Lipa, have also been recognised in multiple categories.

This year the Best Male and Best Female categories will be retired and replaced with the Best Artiste category. Ariana Grande, Ed Sheeran, Kendrick Lamar, Miley Cyrus, Shawn Mendes and Taylor Swift are all up for the Best Artiste award.

Related Topics


Popular this week


Latest Articles


Recommended Articles