The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Kalasha Awards winners 2022 list ready

Local News

The stage is set for the Kalasha Film and TV Awards whose gala is being held today in Nairobi. With a record number of categories and nominees, the excitement is in the air.

Dedicated to promoting culture, stories, creativity and skills; the Kalasha International Film and TV awards gala is expected to be the big entertainment and lifestyle stage in town as celebrities grace the red carpet before the winners are announced.

This year Kalasha Awards have 39 categories with the addition of nine new categories that include; Best regional film, Best Documentary (Short), Best Documentary (Feature), Best Makeup and Hair Stylist, Best Costume Designer, Best Supporting Actor in a TV Drama, Best Supporting Actress in a TV Drama, Best Viewer's Choice (Feature) and Best Viewer's Choice (TV Drama).

The votes for this year have been tallied and it is just a matter of time before we get to know the winners. But before the winners are announced, what about us revisiting the winners who carried the night last year?

Best Lead Actor in a Film: Mawuli Gavor in Just in Time

Best Lead Actress in a Film: Sarah Hassan in Just in Time

Best Supporting Actor in a Film: John Ndegwa in Kutu

Best Supporting Actress in a Film: Catherine Kamau in Kutu

Best Sound Designer: Kelvin Osoo in House of Secrets

Best Original Score: Karanja Kiarie in Crossroads

Best Documentary: Kesho Pia Ni Siku by Ngendo Mukii

Best Editor: Faith Musembi in Tales of the Accidental City

Best Lighting Technician: Walter Odhiambo in Adisa

Best Special Effects: Philip Kesenwa and Paul Jackton in Mission to Rescue

Best Special Effects: Philip Kesenwa and Paul Jackton in Mission to Rescue

Best Original Screenplay: Dennis Humprey in Fikirini

Best Feature Film: Just in Time by Sarah Hassan and Dolabo Adelele

Best Director of Photography: Ryan Tenga in Teleport

Best Short Film: Kutu by Peter Wangugi

Best Local Language Film: Fikirini by Dennis Humphrey

Best Director: Michelle Donde and Steph Sevani in House of Secrets

Best Production Designer: Harrison Mutinda in Mission to Rescue

Best Lead Actor in a TV Drama: Joe Kinywa (Njoro) in Njoro wa Uba

Best Lead Actress in a TV Drama: Sarah Hassan (Detective Makena) in Crime and Justice

Kituo Halisi Award: KU TV

Best Performance in a TV Comedy: Frank Kimani (Mr Wang'ombe) in Varshita

Best TV Drama: Njoro wa Uba by Lucy Mwangi

Best Host in a TV Show: Abigael Wariaga (Captain Abby) in Bururi wa Ciana

Best TV Advertisement: Copia

Best Animation: Mondays and Fridays by Shawn Mwendwa

Best Kids Production: Bururi wa Ciana by Susan Njoki

Best International Award (Eastern Africa): Egna (Ethiopia) by Yoseph Baye

Best Feature by a Student: House of Secrets (USIU) by USIU Africa

Best Documentary by a Student: Beautiful Eyes by Kelvin Muriithi

Best TV Comedy: The XYX Show by King Muriuki

Best Lifetime Achiever: Judy Kibinge

Related Topics


Popular this week


Latest Articles