The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Mariga and Kandu outshines golfers at Nyali

 Nyali Golf and Country Club’s Lady Captain Mary Mariga swings to victory during the 2023 Kenya Pipeline sponsored golf tournament at the club’s course in Mombasa County on Saturday.[Maarufu Mohamed, Standard].

Mary Mariga utilized her home course  skills to emerge the overall winner of the 2023 Kenya Pipeline Golf tournament played at the par 71 Nyali Golf and Country Club course in Mombasa County on Saturday.

The Club’s Lady  Captain playing off handicap 18  carded  an excellent 42  stable ford points  to claim  the day’s lead  beating a team of 168 golfers  in the  day long tournament  sponsored  by  Kenya Pipeline  Company.

“I just played well today and emerged the winner. The course is in good condition, playing well and it was in fact my day,”said Mariga.

Handicap 23 Sam Muraya carded 41 points  to win the Men’s prize   while  Inayet Kudrati  playing off handicap 23  was  the Men runners up on 39 points  and Veteran  handicap 4 William Kaguta  returned a  two over  par 74 gross  to  win the  Best gross prize.

The Club’s immediate Lady Captain Annmarie De-Jong playing off handicap 31 was the Lady winner on a count back score of 38 points.

Paul Macharia  playing off handicap 29  went home smiling with the Best  senior prize after returning 40 points  while the same prize for the Junior was  won by handicap 32 Tonny Gachau  who had a score of 35 points.

The staff winner on 48 points  was won by handicap 54 Diana Nthiwa  while  handicap 33 Joseph Lutta  on 41 points and handicap 47 Navinder Kaur  with 35 points were  the  Best  handicapper  men and lady winners respectively.

 Chief Justice Martha Koome makes a swing during her sponsored golf tournament at Nyali Golf and Country club course in Mombasa County on Saturday.[Maarufu Mohamed, Standard].

At the same venue on Friday, the Club’s former Lady Captain Mary Kandu playing off handicap 13 carded 42 stable ford points to emerge the overall winner of the Chief Justice’s (Martha Koome) sponsored golf tournament that attracted 138 golfers.

“Being a leader at the Club (Membership Director) and also a US Kids Junior Coach demands lots of time, especially coaching the juniors from scratch. But all in all I have to lead by example hence why I played my best today and am looking forward to more wins this year,”said kandu.

Handicap 13 Mburu Kariuki was the Men winner on 41 points while  handicap 10 Martin Ombura  returned  a count back score of 40 points to  claim the runners up slot and the best gross prize was won by  handicap 4 William Kaguta  on a  four over par 75 gross.

Zaituni Mohamed  playing off  handicap 26  carded a count back score of 40 points  to win the Lady’s prize after  tying on the same score with  handicap 26 Jung Lee  who was  the runners up.

Handicap 23 Aaron Kikuvi was the best senior after returning 37 points and   handicap 15 Rasmeet kaur won the best junior prize with 31 points.

Joseph Lutta  playing off  handicap 35  brought 41 points  to win the   high  handicappers Men prize and the same prize for the lady was  claimed by handicap 38 Farida Saeed  who had a score of 37 points.

Chief Justice Martha Koome noted that it was a wonderful day, a beautiful amalgamation of friendship, competition, and the delightful sport of golf.

“Iam pleased to announce that, moving forward and following the generous offer by Nyali Golf and Country Club, the ‘Chief Justice’s Golf Tournament’ will become a consistent fixture in our calendar. This tournament symbolizes more than just a game. It stands for unity within the justice sector, it stands for health and wellness, and it stands for the essential spirit of work-life balance. I see wellness programmes as key to getting a dedicated workforce that is committed to efficiency and high levels of user experience that can only be delivered by a well-balanced professional, “said Koome.

Meanwhile  at the Thika Green Golf Resort on the same day,Machakos  County  team  brought  a combined  score of 366  points  to emerge  the overall  winner of the 2023 Inter County Golf series played on Saturday.

Dr.Fred Mugambi playing off handicap 22 was  the Individual overall  winner  on a  two way count back score of 42 points after tying on the same points  with handicap  19  Moses Cheboi who was  the Men winner of the day and  handicap 22 David Ndirangu settled  for the  Member winner’s prize.

The best County Captain prize was won by handicap 16 Martin Mutuma on 36 points, while Engineer John Ngugi with 41 points and Ash Makrani on 38 points were the Metumi and Rware winners respectively.

The Lady’s prize was won by handicap 26 Veronica Wanjiku with 39 points, and taking the Individual Machakos winner’s prize was Charles Kithuku  who had a score of 40 points.

Andrew Muriuki returned 39 points to win the Abai prize while Maina Gaiti was the Happy Valley winner on 38 points.

The Embu winner’s prize  on 40 points  was claimed by  David  Njiru and  Jediel Muriungi went home with  the  Amerucans  prize  after  carding  39 points  while  Veronica Wanjiku  had  the same points to win  the Kabetshire prize.

Handicap 41 Charles Kithuku with 40 points and handicap 41 Alice Dan also on 40 points were the Subsidiary men and Lady Winners respectively.


Gen Kibochi Homecoming Golf Tournament;

Overall winner-M.Mugambi-Junior (26)-41points C/B,Men winner-Kega Isaac (26)-41 points, Runners up-Chege  Macharia (14)-37points,KDF winner-Winnie Ogutu (34)-40points C/B,KDF runners up-Brig.Joseph Muracha (19)-40 points,KDF second runners up-Maj.Joel Machanga (16)-38points,Lady winner-Florence Wanjiru (11)-35points,Lady runners up-Caroline Wambaria (180-33points,Guest winner-Carol Nthiwa (24)-38points;

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week


Latest Articles