The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

PHOTOS: All the winners of PMVA 9th edition

 Ssaru, DJ Gibbz and Kate Thuku.

The 9th edition of the Pulse Music Video Awards took place on Wednesday, February 21, 2024, at the Nairobi Street Kitchen.

Several entertainers were feted for their contribution to the industry and below we have the full list of winners;

The Best Video Vixen of the Year went to Kate Thuku. She was nominated after she was featured in the song 'Nyako' by Flava. Other vixens in the category included;

Aggie The Dance Queen (song: 'Umeme') – Willy Paul. Georgina Njenga (song: 'Sweet Melody') – Mr. Seed. Winnii (song: 'Winnii') – Alex Kasau Katombi.
 Kate Thuku

The Best Male Video of the Year was "Herawa Ni’" by Prince Indah. He competed against some of your favorite artists, including:

"Angela" – Boutross. "Full Armour" – Hanta The Samurai. "Weh Decide" – Mejja. "Ndovu Ni Kuu" – Khadija. "Big Fat Cheque" – Breeder Lw.
 Prince Indah

In the Best Female Video of the Year category, the competition was fierce, but "Ding Dong" by Ssaru took home the prize. She competed against other giants in the music industry, including:

"Bubbly Bubbly" – Maandy. "Under the Influence" – Femi One. "Kesho" – Bridget Blue. "Saa Hii Kama Leo" – Veryl Mkali Wao. "Raha" – Aaliyah Stephanie.

Moving on to the Best New Artist of the Year category, Princess Recho won with her song, "Baba Ni Wewe Tu." She competed against the following:

Kinoti – "Nitangoja." Sofiya Nzau – "Mwaki." Sean Mmg – "Nakudai." Young Pesa – "Ivo Ivo." Viny Flava – "Nyako."
 Princess Recho

For the Best Collaboration of the Year, Nasha Travis featuring Trio Mio with the song "Mashallah" emerged victorious, competing against legends in the music industry:

"Khadija (Sakata Rhumba)" – Ndovu Kuu ft. Vijana Barubaru. "Too Easy" – Bien ft. DJ Edu. "Tiktoker" – Soundkraft ft. Gody Tennor, Gee, and Kappy. "Kaskie Vibaya" – Fathermore ft. Ssaru. "Nimependa (Remix)" – Guardian Angel ft. Deus Derrick and Sammy G.

In the Best Group of the Year category, Vijana Barubaru won with their love song, "Romantic Call," competing against the following artists:

Mbogi Genje – "Zamali." Spider Clan – "Rieng Genje (Kaveve Kazoze)." Wakadinali – "Sikutambui." H_art the Band – "Buss Down."
 Vijana Barubaru

The Best Breakthrough Video of the Year went to Sound Kraft ft. Gody Tennor, Gee, and Kappy for their Gen Z sensation "TikToker," beating out other artists like Sofiya Nzau, Spider Clan, Kinoti, and Ebola Mkuu.

Recognizing the backbone of every music video, the Best Video Director of the Year was Omoke with the song "Too Easy" by Bien ft. DJ Edu. He competed against directors such as Steve Mugo, Trey Juelz, Neezoh Montana, Link Junior, and ANTIVIRUS.


Nasieku won the Best TikToker of the Year, triumphing over competitors Ajib Gathoni, Kendi Christine, Flirty Carlos, and Babushka Kenya.


Dancing, an integral part of the music industry, was recognized with the Best Choreography of the Year going to "Keroro Remix" by Nonini Mgenge2ru ft. Mtemi.

DJ Gibbz tha Daqchild emerged as the Best DJ of the Year, edging out competitors Mr. C., DJ 38K, DJ Grauchi, DJ Lisney, and DJ Mohspice.

 DJ Gibbz

In the Best Vernacular Song of the Year category, Toby Bisengo with the song "Juliet" took home the prize, surpassing competitors like Kamanu M'Tuamwari, Kipsang, Prince Indah, Samidoh, and Jose Gatutura ft. Kamoko.

 Toby Gisengo

Related Topics


Popular this week


Latest Articles


Recommended Articles