The Standard Group Plc is a multi-media organization with investments in media platforms spanning newspaper print operations, television, radio broadcasting, digital and online services. The Standard Group is recognized as a leading multi-media house in Kenya with a key influence in matters of national and international interest.
  • Standard Group Plc HQ Office,
  • The Standard Group Center,Mombasa Road.
  • P.O Box 30080-00100,Nairobi, Kenya.
  • Telephone number: 0203222111, 0719012111
  • Email: [email protected]

Oichoe and Odero shine at AK Nyanza North Track and Field Championships


Sprinter Lewis Oichoe (left) beats his brother Shadrack Oichoe in 200m final during the AK Nyanza North Truck and Field Championships at Moi Stadium in Kisumu. [Washington Onyango,Standard

Sprinter Lewis Oichoe and Beatrice Odero yesterday dominated the Athletics Kenya Nyanza North Track and Field Championships after dominating the regional games hosted at Moi Stadium in Kisumu.

Oichoe clocked 10.40 seconds to win the men’s 100m finals ahead of Edward Omondi and Samuel Nyongesa who finished with 11.00 and 11.20 seconds respectively.

In 200m men’s final, Oichoe completed a double after clocking 21.00 to win the event ahead of his brother Shadrack who came second in 21.60. Maurice Otieno finished third with 22.40 seconds.

Lewis Oichoe also won the 400m men’s final with a time of 50.00 seconds.

In the women’s category, Homa Bay’s Beatrice Odero completed a triple-truck dominance after winning the 100m, 200m and 4x4 relay.

In 100m women’s final, Odero timed 12.30 seconds to emerge the winner ahead of Mary Achieng and Ivy Awuor who clocked 13.10 and 13.50 seconds respectively.

In 200m, Odero clocked 25.6 to win the finals as Ivy Awuor (28.1) and Emmaculate Akinyi (30.0) came second and third respectively.

Speaking after her victory, Odero said she is shifting her focus to more individual training as she targets to improve he personal best in 100m and 200m.

“Kisumu was great with perfect running conditions. Winning three races is not by any chance an easy feat but a result of hard work. My target is to try and lower my Personal best in every category I run and I hope I can do that now that I have seen where I am,” said Odero.

Meanwhile, Evans Omondi and Belinda Akinyi won the 5000m after clocking 17.00.00 and 22.07.50 in the men’s and women’s finals respectively.

In 1500m, Kisang Kifor clocked 3.54.5 to win the men’s finals as Brandy Adhiambo timed 6.20.9 to emerge top in the women’s category.

Other results saw Miriam Tanui win 400m women, John Bosco and Brandy Adhiambo win 10,000m, Maurice Otieno top Long Jump, Timon Ayieko win Shot Put, Evans Oyoo win Discus and Timon Ayieko taking home Javelin.

Related Topics


Trending Now


Popular this week

The Standard
Subscribe for the KES1999 KES999 offer today!