× Digital News Videos Health & Science Opinion Education Columnists Lifestyle Cartoons Moi Cabinets Kibaki Cabinets Arts & Culture Podcasts E-Paper Lifestyle & Entertainment Nairobian Entertainment Eve Woman TV Stations KTN Home KTN News BTV KTN Farmers TV Radio Stations Radio Maisha Spice FM Vybez Radio Enterprise VAS E-Learning Digger Classified Jobs Games Crosswords Sudoku The Standard Group Corporate Contact Us Rate Card Vacancies DCX O.M Portal Corporate Email RMS

Magoha appoints universities’ council chairs in fresh reshuffle aimed at reforms

By Jeckonia Otieno | November 7th 2020

Education Cabinet Secretary George Magoha has appointed 12 chairs to head various university councils in a new reshuffle aimed at reforming the institutions of higher learning.

In a notice published in the Kenya Gazette yesterday, Prof Magoha (pictured) said the reshuffle will pave way for reforms that will assure stability and end incessant infighting in institutions of higher learning.

“Some universities have faced uncertain times due to lack of fully constituted councils coupled with infighting over the control of the institutions,” Magoha said yesterday.

In the changes which took effect from November 4, Christopher Khaemba, the former Alliance High School principal will now serve as a member of the Moi University Council.

Joachim Osur, the Amref technical director will chair the council of Murang’a University.

Harriette Chiggai, who vied for the presidency of the Law Society of Kenya (LSK), will serve in the council of South Eastern University.

Humphrey Njuguna will chair the council of Moi University. Others appointed to the board include Clara Samiji, David Rono and Hildah Muchunku who will each serve a three-year term.

Pwani University also has a new council chair with the appointment of Samuel Ocholla.

Samuel Nyachae has been re-appointed to serve another term in the same university’s council.

Tumultuous times

At Laikipia University, Margaret Wanjugu will serve as the council chair while Eldoret University Council will be chaired by Ismail Buro. He will be joined by John Kahunyu, Beryl Namalwa, Joseph Nkamasai and Sixtus Ondieki as council members.

Magoha has also appointed John Karanja, Stephen Kirwa, Irene Chizupo and Nelson Koinet as members of the council of Kisii University. Politician Omingo Magara will sit in the Karatina University Council as a member.

Jamleck Mutugi will chair the council of Machakos University which also has three new council members.

Some universities have faced tumultuous times due to conflicts pitting the councils and management.

A clear example is the Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT) where a standoff between the council chair and vice chancellor over the appointment of an acting deputy vice chancellor ended in a stalemate until the courts stepped in.

Similarly, Turkana University College experienced a bitter fallout between the council and the college principal over the return of a former deputy principal.

A flurry of letters between the campus and its parent institution Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology (Mmust) led to the suspension of the principal who is facing a court case but has also sued the institution.

Share this story
Daddy's Girl: Journey on being raised by single father
He says she will tell her own story. He wants to tell his, and that of his daughter.