Public views sought as 12 MPs earmarked for state awards

President Uhuru Kenyatta congratulates Eliud Kipchoge after he honoured him with the Elder of the Golden Heart (EGH) during the Mashujaa Day celebrations last year. [File, Standard]

Some 12 Members of Parliament, largely drawn from the pro-Building Bridges Initiative team, have been nominated to receive honorary awards from President Uhuru Kenyatta.

The legislators and five parliamentary staff, if approved, will be conferred with the Chief of the Order of the Burning Spear (CBS), Elder of the Order of Burning Spear (EBS) and Moran of the Order of the Golden Heart (MGH) awards.

According to the National Honours Act 2013, one merits the awards if they have "made an exemplary contribution to the country or a county in the economic, social, scientific, academic, public administration, governance, sports, journalism, business, security or other fields" or "has otherwise brought honour, glory or pride to the Republic".

Makueni Senator Mutula Kilonzo, Murang’a Woman Representative Sabina Chege and Murang’a Senator Irungu Kang’ata have been lined up for the CBS award.

The other CBS nominees are Emmanuel Wangwe (Navakholo), Japhet Miriti Kareke (Maara), Peris Pesi Tobiko (Kajiado East), Christopher Omulele (Luanda), John Olago Aluoch (Kisumu Town West) and Moses Lessonet (Eldama Ravine).

Busia County Woman Representative Florence Mwikali Mutua and Nominated Senator Rose Nyamunga Ogendo – who sits on the Speaker’s panel – have also been tipped for the CBS award.

The Clerk of the National Assembly and Chairperson National Assembly Board of Management Michael Rotich Siala is also set to receive a CBS.

Isiolo Senator Fatuma Adan Dullo, a holder of the CBS, will be conferred with an MGH. An MGH is the third-highest category of the presidential awards.

Senate Deputy Clerk Eunice Gichangi and her National Assembly counterparts Jeremiah Walusala Ndombi and Serah M. Kioko have been proposed for the EBS award.

The Director-General, Parliamentary Joint Services Clement Nyandiere will also receive an EBS.

Parliamentary Honours Advisory Committee – who tipped the 17 for the awards – has called for public views or objections to the nominations.

The views and reservations, if any, should reach the committee – jointly chaired by Speaker Justin Muturi and his Senate counterpart Kenneth Lusaka – by Friday, September 18, 2020, at 5:00 PM.

"They may be forwarded to the Joint Secretariat, Parliamentary Honours Advisory Committee, P.O. Box 41842-00100, Nairobi or emailed to [email protected]," the committee said on Monday.

"Hand delivered documents shall not be accepted."


The coveted presidential awards come with a bucket load of privileges and entitlements including invitations to national and community functions as a state guest.

Recipients can also have towns, institutions, open parks in urban areas, roads, streets, estates, stamps and notable landmarks named after them.

The highest category of the awards is the Order of the Golden Heart of Kenya which is divided into three categories.

This includes Chief of the Order of the Golden Heart of Kenya (CGH), Elder of the Order of the Golden Heart of Kenya (EGH) and Moran of the Order of the Golden Heart of Kenya (MGH).

The Order of the Golden Heart award is followed by Uhodari Medal.

Uhodari Medal is followed by The Order of the Burning Spear which is also subdivided into three categories.

The highest level of OBS is the Chief of the Order of the Burning Spear (CBS) followed by the Elder of the Order of the Burning Spear (EBS) and finally Moran of the Order of the Burning Spear (MBS).

Other awards include The Order of the Grand Warrior of Kenya, The Distinguished Conduct Order, The Distinguished Service Medal, The Silver Star of Kenya, and Head of State's Commendation.